Why are the Protesters so Pissed??!!

General view of Arena Pantanal stadium in Cuiaba

Sometimes it is difficult to understand what might motivate millions of people, Brazilians no less, who are thought to be a rather peaceful lot, to get angry enough to take to the streets. It’s easier to get caught up in the drama of damages made by the outliers in the crowd who take advantage of the situation – especially if that is mostly what the media is reporting on.

Last night, a story broke about one of the world cup stadiums. Reuters reporter Brian Winter went to Cuiaba to investigate what he suspected was a structure that had far more damage due to a fire than officials were reporting. What he found was a bone chilling disaster due to corruption and cover ups.

Millions and millions of dollars have been diverted from public service to building stadiums… but mostly lining the pockets of politicians. Promises to improve infrastructure  have not just fallen short, in most cases, it never even got started.

Maybe you don’t care about the underprivileged Brazilians who can’t get health care or education (maybe you do). Perhaps you might mind if a sport fan you know or athlete you admire is crushed by the metal and concrete of a collapsing stadium.

Now we know that Cuiabá is f’d up. Is this just the beginning?

Read the Reuters article here, but don’t assume it is the full story: Brazil World Cup stadium was structurally damaged by fire.

About bornagainbrazilian

Having relocated from New York City to Sao Paulo, Brazil, I'm an expat attempting to broaden my horizons and adjust some of my American ways to be "born again" a Brazilian.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Foreigner Insights, Tourist Info, What the h*ll is that? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why are the Protesters so Pissed??!!

  1. Kristin says:

    I don’t know, Megan, I read differently Brian’s article. I am not ready to give up on the World Cup being in the 12 cities that are preparing for the Cup. In the end it is the responsibility of FIFA and the local engineering folks to get involved and prohibit the use of the Stadium if disaster is imminent. I am not saying it is not, but as far as I understand, the final structural check is planned for this Thursday. I do not think that the games will go forward there if the Stadium does not check out. Perhaps I am naive, but I do think that when structural problems are discovered and confirmed (Engenhão in Rio, for example), the stadiums are shut.

    I am not ready to tell people to stay away from the World Cup. Or Cuiabá. I have the greatest respect for Brian’s reporting and I think it is as media should be–a kick in the pants to who should be safeguarding the fans. Let’s not call it off yet. However, if he could please go visit Belo Horizonte and check out the stadium there for me ahead of June 19, I would very much appreciate it.🙂

    • HAHAHAHA. Maybe he’ll get assigned to check them all out – but more likely they are going to shut their gates when they see him coming now.
      I hope you are right Kristin. I want to see a successful World Cup in Brazil too. But I can appreciate why folks here are pretty pissed off.

  2. Saulo de Tarcio says:

    Unfortunately I saw for myself the sheer disdain that the population was thinking of the world cup. But I didn’t see Rio only; in a recent trip I visited Rio, São Paulo, and Brasilia…. feelings are very different in these cities … But I am fervently hoping that things go well because Brasil is on the right path , all they need is a shove…

What do you think?

