Five Brazilian Expletives and How to Use Them

 

expletive—- Warning. Explicit material below.

Happy Braziliversary to me! On this special day, I’m going to give a Portuguese lesson…

I’ve grown tired of swearing at Brazilians who almost run me over with their car in English. It’s not an effective way to communicate my emotions or message.  So I decided to learn a few choice phrases in Portuguese. You can too. Here are some common expletives and how you might use them.

1. Filho da puta – son of a bitch

“This is a crosswalk you filho da puta.”

2. Vai tomar no cu – go take it up your ass/stick it up your ass

“You’re charging me double because I’m a foreigner – you can vai tomar no cu with your cucumbers.”

3. Vai se foder – go fuck yourself

“No, I’m NOT going to provide you with an additional document. Vai se foder.”

4. Puta que pariu – literally “bitch that gave birth” but translation closer to “fucking hell”

“Puta que pariu – your guy never showed up to install my internet!”

5. Caralho – dick/prick/penis

“Hey caralho! You just knocked over my caipirinha!”

Happy communicating!!

 

About bornagainbrazilian

Having relocated from New York City to Sao Paulo, Brazil, I'm an expat attempting to broaden my horizons and adjust some of my American ways to be "born again" a Brazilian.
This entry was posted in Culture Conflicts, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights, What the h*ll is that? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Five Brazilian Expletives and How to Use Them

  1. JP says:

    Hoping to becoming to Brazil soon. I’ll start practcing these phrases.

  2. Annabelle says:

    Do you feel it is more powerful when you swear in Portuguese or English? For yourself, I mean, not the Brazilians.

    • Well, I’m much better at it in English. But if the recipient doesn’t understand what I’m saying, it just doesn’t have the same impact. I actually haven’t tried these out yet. I’m certain I will have some opportunities soon.

  3. Karina says:

    I always enjoy saying puta que o pariu, it relaxes me when I’m mad.
    I tried to teach that to my American professor when he was stressed. I used to tell him that it could avoid him a heart attack if he starts saying things like that instead of just saying “Damn” while taking a deep breath.
    I would say: “Come on, Dr G! Bang your fist on the table and say: pu-ta que o pa-riu.”🙂 He laughed, but decided to stick with the boring ‘Damn’

  4. Trish_Br says:

    6. Cacete – synonymous with caralho; used most commonly to express amazement or bewilderment (positive or negative tone will depend on enunciation); may also be expressed in text messaging as “kct”.

    “Cacete! We’ve scheduled for your company to come repair our plumbing four times and you have failed to show up even once!”
    “Caceeeeete…how expensive!”

    7. Puta Merda – bitch shit, but translation closer to ‘Goddamn’

    “Puta merda! That was an awesome goal!”

    * Note: a variation might be “Putz”

  5. Julia says:

    hahahahah I found it hilarious!
    And very useful.

  6. Peg says:

    I knew four out of five! I must be assimilating.😉
    And it’s true, “Puta que pariu” is much more therapeutic and effective than a simple “Nossa”!

  7. Andrew Francis says:

    Don’t forget the shorthand FDP (“efe dê pê”) and PQP (“pê quê pê”) for 1 and 4, respectively.🙂

  8. anon blog fan says:

    Do you find that most Brazilians you encounter don’t understand English swear words? I only ask because I work with ESL learners from all over, some with VERY minimal English, but they all seem to be well versed in the infamous seven dirty words…(but the only Brazilians I’ve worked with have had at least an intermediate-ish level of English, so I dunno if my theory holds there!)

    • Hmmm. This is a good question. I just assumed that they didn’t know what I was saying because of the confused looks on their faces. But maybe they were just confused as to why I tried to cross the street in the crosswalk.

  9. natonoblis says:

    What happened to porra? It is used for everything, and even softened to “po.” This word needs to be explained here too, and how did it become so ubiquitous?

  10. victor says:

    Very good ones. Congratulations.

    I somehow missed good ole ‘SUA DESGRAÇA’.

  11. RoDiniz says:

    since some Brazilians can be really hotheads, I wouldn’t recommend you to go yelling those freely out there, you can get in hot waters, or even a big fight..

What do you think?

