The Protesting and Why Brazil Might Finally Have a Shot at World Leadership

Yesterday I wrote about crime in São Paulo. A mention of the protests that are happening here quickly shifted the discussion.

This morning I came across the following important video on Facebook.

I’ll be the first to admit ignorance when I have spoken out on a subject of which I do not have all the relevant facts. What is more difficult to declare is denial.

I live in a bubble here in Brazil. I can’t even claim that it is a Brazilian bubble, because I’ve mostly managed an American life here, suffering through a few minor inconveniences, yet enjoying a whole bunch of Brazilian benefits. In the past two weeks that bubble was busted as actual São Paulo life, crime and political misconduct, infiltrated my world.

Rich resources and developing classes meant a number of people made big bets on Brazil during the past decade. But what they might not have understood were the underlying factors of how this country really operates. And how could they, when much of it is hidden behind political statements and news reports?

But now something is changing. The articulate and connected Brazilians are taking an interest in making the country a more well-run place. And that will bode well not just for Brazil, but for other economies.

It’s an interesting time to be here if I choose to pay attention.

About bornagainbrazilian

Having relocated from New York City to Sao Paulo, Brazil, I'm an expat attempting to broaden my horizons and adjust some of my American ways to be "born again" a Brazilian.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Daily Escapades, Foreigner Insights, Living in Sao Paulo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Protesting and Why Brazil Might Finally Have a Shot at World Leadership

  1. sccirihal says:

    Wow – thanks for posting! I will do my part to share this….

  2. sccirihal says:

    One more thing I’d like to add after further reflection…. IF Brazilians truly want to effect change in their country, they first need to show the general public that they are protesting, not rioting. As a Sao Paulo resident, I cannot support destroying property and injuring people whatever the cause. True change will come when these protests are peaceful and do not give the government any cause for violence. Until then, I will sit on the sidelines for my own safety, hoping that REAL change is possible.

  3. Wow! Who Knew?

    Occupy Copacabana! Occupy Sao Paulo!

    I Wish Them Well

  4. 1megupload says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this video. It’s been really difficult to explain to people outside of Brazil what’s happening here. Let’s hope this leads to some positive change!

  5. Tina Downey says:

    I hate politics and usually don’t pay much attention because it’s too frustrating to hear about the latest scandals and misconduct. I wish you well in this time of change.
    Tina @ Life is Good

  6. Trish_Br says:

    Protest leaders have been invited to tea with the government, so one can only hope money and political favors do not exchange hands once again to silence the people. One can only hope Brazilians will continue to protest and demand change – and that they will be open to understanding that change must start within their own households.

  7. Lucy says:

    As a U.S. citizen I cannot do much for you but I can wish you the best, we protest,yell loud and try hard here in the U.S. too,therefore I totally support your method to shake the system up. Good Luck.

  8. anna says:

    A Gringo (foreigner) Response to #changebrazil
    by liveinbrazilnow

  9. anna says:

    “Jamais achei que ele fosse atirar”, afirma repórter atingida em protesto
    By Folha de Sao Paulo
    its in portuguese. Sorry folks no subtitles in english 😦

  10. I did re blog and share, thx.🙂

  11. Pingback: Uprising | A Never Ending Summer

  12. Pingback: Protests in Brazil | Expat in Brazil

What do you think?

