Strange São Paulo

What I often love about São Paulo are the oddities that surround me…

A mime crossing guard.

IMG_3687

 

 

Was someone trying to get in the door, or out?

IMG_3755

 

 

It’s a mouse.

IMG_3757

 

All of these plaques and flowers are a thank you to the person buried inside for helping them achieve a number of things in their life since the person’s death.

IMG_3740

Who is in there? It’s not Jesus. It’s not Gandhi. It’s not Mother Theresa. It’s a woman named Maria Judith de Barros who, according to my internet research, was a woman who endured beatings from her alcoholic husband and died of a degenerative disease. For some reason, people think she can make miracles from the grave.

IMG_3739

 

If anyone out there knows more about it – please share. I’m very curious.

About bornagainbrazilian

Having relocated from New York City to Sao Paulo, Brazil, I'm an expat attempting to broaden my horizons and adjust some of my American ways to be "born again" a Brazilian.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Crazy Adventures, Daily Escapades, Living in Sao Paulo, Tourist Info, What the h*ll is that? and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Strange São Paulo

  1. I love the quirkiness of cities.

    When I live din Austin in the 90s they had a slogan that said ~keep austin weird~. Now I understand several cities have this slogan. It was funn, but not it seems a little pretentious to me. lol

  2. Karina says:

    I couldn’t find more information about Maria Judith. When I went there, one of the old men who works there told us about her history, even on internet. Looks like she’s almost like an urban legend🙂. I was surprised by the ‘graces’ received by people, a lot of them related to ‘vestibular’ approval. One thing that I learned is that this is not her original grave. A popular singer called Beto Barbosa rebuilt her grave after he was blessed.

    When I was there last September I took pictures – not only from the graves, but also from flowers, birds and bees that I saw there🙂 https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.451537524891612.102925.100001061044295&type=1&l=8811cef6ed

  3. Amanda says:

    Yea we had the mime crossing guards in our neighborhood for a couple of weeks a couple months ago. They are really neat and very nice.I felt back because its sweltering heat and they were out on the corners for hours. Poor things…

    • I’ve seen them on Avenida Paulista too – only at the time I didn’t know they were crossing guards. All very nice, i agree!

      • Carol says:

        Hello, Megan! I’m Carolina (from Brenda’s house). Loved your blog. And the guards are a CET initiative to call attention to the zebras and help us, brazilians, to change our habits – the ones you must know very well!🙂 Will come back! Cheers!

  4. Good story about the shrine, it’s got me curious. The ‘doorway’if it can be called that is so Brazilian, and that’s a good thing. I love the quirkiness and diversity of Brazil, good blog.thx

  5. Rachel says:

    I really have to get over to SP and explore it more! I love weird stuff like this. I’m sure Rio has them too. I’m going to keep my eyes open for them. Thanks for the inspiration🙂

What do you think?

