Update: Mean Girls

So I caught up with the mother of the birthday girl today at our yoga class (see Mean Girls). Again she apologized for the way the girls (not her girls, they are super sweet – two of the guests) treated my daughter, or I should say tried to treat my daughter at the birthday party. She also gave me a bit of insight.

As we suspected, both little girls have mother issues. One has seen her mother go in and out of the hospital various times for, of all things, anorexia (oh, let us count the issues that are going to stack up in that child’s life…). In addition, the girl’s father isn’t in the picture. Aye, aye, aye.

The second girl, whose mother wasn’t around much anyway, is not competing with a new baby brother who has been sucking the remaining scattered time of her mother’s attention.

Are these good excuses for the girls to be mean to mine? I’m not accepting it. I’ve know plenty of people who had it much harder and chose not to go that route. But I will allow sympathy to ride alongside my contempt for them. For the time being.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Culture Conflicts, Daily Escapades, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Update: Mean Girls

  1. Ray says:

    I am with you, not an excuse at all. Let’s hope these people will wake up and realized what their girls are going through. I have no doubt, they will suffer in life if they keep acting up like that.
    People are not putting up with bullying anymore, there is more awareness nowadays.

    Ray

  2. oxherder says:

    Never acceptable to be mean, nope. I agree.

  3. Samia says:

    I agree with you. There’s no excuse to be mean, but kids need guidance. They need reassurance and to be taught right from wrong, and these girls clearly are not learning anything at home. I’m sorry it happened to your little girl. I work with kids and I know girls can be really mean to each other. It’s so sad! Unfortunately, there’s very little we, as teachers and caregivers, can do to change it. This sort of behavior is usually a reflection of what they see at home and it’s supported by parents. If the parent isn’t on the same boat as teachers and caregivers about their children’s education and values, it becomes extremely difficult to work with children and help them become responsible and kind adults. We all know this kind of behavior will lead to a miserable life for them, and for the people they’ll meet in their lives. I try to always work closely with parents to avoid this, but not every parent is willing to take the time to work with their children’s issues/needs, or even willing to admit there’s something wrong. The norm seems to be parents trying to justify their children’s behavior, blame teachers, the other parents, God, instead of taking responsibility and making an effort to try to make their children better people. It really is unfortunate. 😦

What do you think?

