Brazilian Challenge Day 231: Full time Babá

Yes, it’s true. The Brazilian culture finally has me in its clutches. Sunday, Day 231 of my challenge to be more and more Brazilian, I hired a full-time, live-in nanny.

I don’t know… the stars were alined in terms of personality and personal frustration. She is young (not “criada” young, which is an old practice a friend explained today in which a family raised a maid/nanny from the age of between 11 to 13 years). She is the daughter of previously mentioned part-time nanny. She is sweet and my daughter likes her. I’m way behind in everything I’ve set out to accomplish and more free time with help. It’s a win-win. So… we’ll try the whole thing out.

All those who sensed my previous, personal self-righteousness over the fact that I did not need/want another full-time person working in my home, especially one that would be there 24 hours, can officially mock me with my blessing.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Culture Conflicts, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 231: Full time Babá

  1. It sounds like you are ready for it! The extra help is great, and I hope she can fit right in , like macaroni and cheese. I was a live-in nanny, and I liked it. (And being very American, I loved being live-out more!)

    • I’m hoping she will! I might be asking your advice on how to manage things – an ex live-in nanny perspective would be great! Although, of course, the culture is waaaaay different.

      • I’m happy to help in any way I can! It was a loooong tim ago- my littlest is starting college RIGHT NOW. Almost hard to believe.

        Culturally, people here need less personal space. Our part-time babysitter/housekeeper is quite unaccustomed to not being bossed around. I think she’s lost sometimes, but I always think, with nannies and housekeepers, it’s a job that someone knows or they don’t know. I’m not going to show her how to clean the bathroom, or how to wash dishes.

        Several women here told me I had to work side-by-side with her the first week to show her how I wanted everything. These are the same women who have housekeepers quit every few months.

        She hasn’t been comfortable at all with petty cash, but I’ve gotten her accustomed to making decisions and spending money (we’re talking less that R$50! lol)

        • I know. I heard the same thing about hovering over them to show them exactly how you want things. I’ve never done that. However, this girl is really inexperienced, so I’m not sure how to balance it. A friend of mine gave me a checklist and I think I’ll break it down on a daily basis. I’ve also decided that I’ll be taking pictures of how the table should be set (that’s my Brazilian husband’s request) and exactly what are pajamas for my daughter and what is not! HA!

  2. I have to tell you I’m loving this Brazilian challenge series. It’s fun to see how you are able to isolate so many aspects of the culture.

    And I say changing mind is a sign of growth. Good luck with the nanny!

  3. Rachel says:

    Hope it works out for you guys!

  4. scrubgrub says:

    Good for you. As you know we’ve always had one, and just kind of treat her like she’s our oldest daughter or something (24). I made a list for her of what I wanted done each day, and she went by that for the first few months. However she doesn’t work from it anymore. I didn’t sit by her cleaning, but I did give her a quick walk through of what I wanted with everything when she started. Also we gave her the freedom to get things done on her schedule. So if she wanted to go out in the evening she did, but she also knew that the kitchen dishes needed to be loaded before the am. For her it worked. I also am American enough that when my kid took a nap every day, I pretty much let her take a nap too. It gave me the house to myself all weekend… she also had weekends off most of the time, and she’d go sleep elsewhere. She lives with us now it’s worked out so well.

What do you think?

