Brazilian Challenge Day 171: Baby Culture

On Day 171 of my challenge (Chicago edition), I got to meet my beautiful new baby niece! It was also a great opportunity to be a bit Brazilian.

As soon as I had her in my arms, I asked my sister, “Don’t you think that she needs a pair of socks?”

My sister hesitantly agreed. “Um, ok. Socks. Sure.”

“What about a sweater? I think maybe she needs a sweater too,” I added.

“A sweater?” she answered. “I guess I can find a sweater.”

“And a hat,” I said.

My sister stopped what she was doing (which was looking for a sweater). “You know, she’s already a month old,” she responded. “And it’s 95 degrees out.”

But for the Brazilians, no matter the temperature. Every baby needs a pair of socks, a sweater and a hat. At all times.

I just had one more Brazilian question for her before my challenge was done for the day.

“So when are you having the next one?”

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 171: Baby Culture

  1. Karina says:

    Hahaha How did you feel making those questions? 🙂

  2. Meredith says:

    haha
    Someone told me last weekend that my son needed a hat on. A friend that was with me thought maybe she was saying that she had one (even though she was a waitress) because the way in which she made the suggestion was a bit confusing. She didn’t know what to say.

    • Get used to it. My daughter is four and I still have people (sometimes on the street) telling me that she needs a sweater. I usually just nod and smile like I don’t understand what they are saying.

      • Meredith says:

        It’s annoying, isn’t it? Someone told me recently that my son was cold while we were shopping for a hat for him because it was so sunny and hot that day. I just tell my husband, in English, to ignore them because they think they know everything.

        • nina says:

          Well people tell you everything about everything. My head hurts so much from people, most people say different things. One minute people tell me that formula is great, one minute they tell me formula is the devil. It varies on class here I noticed. I hang out with so many people and different types. I here it all. But yes, everyone always tells me about sweaters, hats and socks. I generally dress him with more clothes than less, as people have the habit of opening windows and doors of their houses/businesses when it’s winter. I had three layers on my baby, and one doctor told me to take one off. He said warmer clothing is better with less layers. However, living in the snow all my life. We always use layers in wisconsin and consider them better

          anyway, your funny..

  3. Ray says:

    Ha! This is so true!! Brazilians think raising a baby is everyone’s responsibility!!! 🙂
    And lucky for us, Sao Paulo will never ever, ever be 95 Degrees !!! 😉

    Ray

What do you think?

