Brazilian Challenge Day 164: Post Exam Discussion

Just when you thought the experience was over…

Day 164 was a follow up, to the follow up to the posts Gyno and The Exams.

I dragged the results of all 23 exams back to my gynecologist. I had already eyed all the paperwork and only identified one potential concern. There was a 7 and the apparent safe range was something like 8 to 50 something or other.

But lesson learned, negative doesn’t always mean positive.

First, apparently I’m missing a slew of hepatitis vaccinations, according to Brazilian standards. Second, my doctor told me I need to have a surgery. Nothing serious, totally preventative. But, I’m wondering how our Brazilian insurance is going to respond to this preventative surgery. In the U.S., the response from the insurance company would be, “No way! We don’t fix it ’til it’s broke.”

I’m hoping since they were cool with all the preventative tests, they are willing to support the results as well.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Expatriate Info & Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 164: Post Exam Discussion

  1. anna says:

    r u still in SP?
    you can check

    http://www.mostrablack.com.br
    until June 24th 2012,
    rua Professor Fonseca Rodrigues, 664, Alto de Pinheiros, São Paulo

    http://www.casacor.com.br/saopaulo/
    until 22nd of july
    Jockey Club de São Paulo Av. Lineu de Paula Machado, 1.173 – Cidade Jardim – São Paulo

  2. I have all my Hep A/B/C shots, got them started after undergrad when I travelled all over, but I’m happy I did. It’s easy to get some forms by lack of sanitation in food service employees. (I doubt that would be a problem here in ultra-clean Brasil!)

    Do it! 🙂

  3. Erin Halm says:

    Get a second opinion before you have any surgery.

    • Yes, because you know what I discovered as I was talking to my husband about it? She was talking about me having surgery in one area of my body and showing my ultrasounds from another part of my body! Good advice. Definitely going to get a second opinion.

  4. Ray says:

    B.A.B,

    According to the experience we have had with our parent’s health insurance in Sao Paulo, they tend to cover “preventative” stuff…Good luck, I think you will get it covered…

    Ray

  5. skarrlette says:

    Not to go off topic but I am trying to find out info on vaccinations in Brazil. I just found out that I have to get hep a and hep b over 6 months! Well I am leaving way before that. Are the shots chemically the same as the shots in the US? Did you get your shots in Brazil if so what was the experience like? Were you scared about getting the shots down there?

    Sorry about all the questions but I’m not too keen on Brazilian health care.

    Thanks in advance.

    • No problem. Unfortunately, my doctor told me I had to get the shots, but I haven’t gotten around to doing it yet. Thanks for the reminder. Sorry I couldn’t be more help but I’ll give you an update as soon as I get it done!

What do you think?

