Brazilian Challenge Day 160: Elevator Service

Have any of you in Brazil ever heard this?

“Just send it down in the elevator!”

Aye, aye, aye. Sends a chill down my spine. I would have never considered sending a possession down unaccompanied in a semi-public utility. Yet is seems to be a perfectly acceptable mode of transportation for one’s belongings. On more than one occasion, I’ve actually ridden the elevator with a mystery package. Perhaps it is because our building only has 11 floors and 2 apartments per floor. But still. I’ve always refused, instead just gotten dress and grabbed my daughter to go down and deliver what was needed.

But on Day 160, I gave in. My husband forgot his portfolio and wanted me to send it down via the elevator. I considered asking the housekeeper to bring it down, as well as just changing out of my pajamas (it was about time) and bringing it myself. But I figured – what the heck – it’s his and if it doesn’t get there, only he is to blame! So I dropped it in the carriage and hit the button for “T.”

I’ll assume it got there as I received no subsequent inquiries. Go figure.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Culture Conflicts, Daily Escapades, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 160: Elevator Service

  1. Trish says:

    Love this!!! I have yet to come to terms with this one…And I’ve actually waited for the elevator to come back on more than one occasion – just in case!

  2. Danielle says:

    hahah we’ve always lived in a relatively low floor, and Alexandre ALWAYS forgets things and realizes it on the way to the car. So I just throw stuff out the window, because I’m classy like that.

  3. Ray says:

    B.A.B,

    I grew up at an apartament on the 16th floor, and yes, we always did that too, and my parents still do it from time to time. They have lived in the same apartament since 1976.
    They know everyone in their building and every one know each other, it’s like a small town within the big city. The honor system is still alive and strong!! 🙂

    Ray

  4. Melissa says:

    I used to do this in my old office building in Milwaukee. The elevator was old and someone got stuck in it one day. Being that I am claustrophobic, I stopped riding the elevator after that. So when I had lots of things to bring out to my car, I would send my cart full of stuff down alone and I would take the stairs. One day the cleaning guy told me that he was always freaked out to ride the elevator and get stuck in it when he was in the building alone on the weekends. I told him what I did with my cart, so he started doing the same thing with his his mop and bucket. But this was by no means typical for the rest of the people in the building 🙂

What do you think?

