Brazilian Challenge Day 155: Agua de Coconut

So we ended our Rio weekend in the best way possible – on the beach! And what’s an afternoon on the beach without a fresh drink of agua de coco.

On the beaches in Brazil, the guys that rent you the chairs and umbrellas can often offer you agua de coco – straight from the nut. They literally whack the coconut with a sharp thingy, stick a straw in it and hand it over. Delicious. And least I think so.

Agua de coco. You either love it or hate it. But it is so Brazilian.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Brazilliant, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights, Tourist Info and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 155: Agua de Coconut

  1. VSichalwe says:

    I love agua de Coco, I am from Colombia but I lived in Australia and now I live in Ghana at the moment, that is one of the things I love about Ghana agua de coco because it always reminds me of vaccacion time in Colombia when we used to drive all the way to the coast. South America is beautiful, I am glad you are having fun.

  2. Stephanie says:

    I’ve never been too keen on the flavor, but I’ve come to like it (or should I say encourage/force myself to drink it) because it’s good for me. Especially with a hangover. It’s like how I feel about broccoli, I eat it, but only because I know it is good for me. Hope you guys had a great time in Rio!

  3. Don’t forget to ask them to crack it open so that you can eat the meat afterwards!

  4. Meredith says:

    That’s the only way I like it.

  5. mrtonysop says:

    This was my absolute favorite part in my trip to the beaches of cabo frio in Rio. I’d have 2-3 per day. I have to get my fix now from a Brazilian vendor called Coco Samba. If your in the US and have a craving try it out its the closest I’ve come to right out of the coconut: http://www.adornoproducts.com/coco-samba-coconut-water/

    Great Blog! Thanks.

  6. mrtonysop says:

    Also one other thing is this a photo you took yourself?

What do you think?

