Brazilian Challenge Day 150: Marcar

In Portuguese, marcar is to make an appointment. And that is what I did all on my own using the most frightening device in my Brazilian home – the telephone.

I’ve finally gotten my Portuguese pronunciation to a point where people don’t just hang up on me when I’m trying to make a doctor appointment or a dinner reservation. Hooray! On Day 150 of my challenge to be more Brazilian, instead of walking over to the office or asking my husband to make the appointment for me, I made a series myself over the phone like a real Brazilian.

Phew. One more obstacle overcome.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 150: Marcar

  1. Shelley says:

    Good job! Not being hung up on is good. I have to try to call “Smiles” to take care of a problem, and I’ve been putting it off for months. I’d much rather schedule an appt than deal with Brazilian call center people.

  2. Ray says:

    Congratulations! This is a HUGE step! 🙂

  3. Meredith says:

    Yeah! Good for you. It feels great to make the appointment, knowing that you did it all by yourself.

  4. Danielle says:

    YAY! You did it!!!!

  5. I love it when I’m understood on the phone! It’s happening more and more.

  6. Viviane says:

    Hi, i ‘m brazilian living in U.S and i was reading your post and thinking that i’ve seen it before..lol
    I hate talking over the phone in english, people sometimes don’t understand my accent and it’s terrible. so i prefer go to the offices and talk in person, plus my english is not perfect.

What do you think?

