Sou permanente!

Yep, as of yesterday, May 24, 2012 I am a permanent resident of Brazil. And it only took 678 days. That’s 664 more days than the lawyers told us it would take.

Not sure how permanente my permanent visa is – it seems to expire in 9 years and that doesn’t sound so permanent, but I’ll take what I can get at this point.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Crazy Adventures, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Sou permanente!

  1. Welcome to the club! Did you do it all here, or apply from the US? I came with mine, just had to wait for my card. They got it to me in less than 4 months!

  2. HaLin says:

    Congratulations!

  3. jaime says:

    678 days?!?! crap – we’re expecting ours by September, which would’ve been 9 months so all fingers and toes crossed

  4. Meredith says:

    First, Congratulations!
    Second, You are patient.

    My residency has been approved but because of an easy to fix error that someone is not bothering to fix, I think that my 10-year residency will run out before I get my card.

  5. Woohoo! Congrats! I’m on day 120 or so, still waiting. If it’s a 10-year residence visa, then it’s similar to the Green Card in the U.S. – when it runs out you just renew it, which (I assume) is easier.

  6. Becky says:

    Yeah! Congrats! I got mine last week. It was also way late. They told me 3 months, that would have been approximately October 2010. I applied on July 16th, 2010. On May 18th, 2012 it arrived. Ooh Brazil…..

  7. Erin Halm says:

    You have to renew them every nine years. I just renewed mine and they told me it would take six months, so I won´t have the new one until October. And they took the original to renew it, so I can´t leave the country. Hopefully, there won´t be any family emergencies in the US before then…

  8. Stephanie says:

    Yay, congrats! Wow that took a long time! At least you don’t have to worry about renewing it for a long time. And thanks to Erin for the heads-up about the renewal taking 6 months! Mine expires in 1 1/2 years so I’ll be sure to get on it well in advance. I finally got around to getting my working card here last month but it’s connected to the expiration of my RNE card so I’ll have to renew that at the same time. Urgh.

  9. Corinne says:

    Erin – you can leave the country if you have that protocolo paper. I had to go to a conference while mine was being renewed and only had the protocolo. BAB – the visa is permanent, you just have to renew your card every 9 years.

  10. Ray says:

    Congratulations! Officially Welcome to Brazil! 🙂 Seja Bem Vinda ao Brasil!! 🙂

  11. Alex says:

    Well I heard that after a period of time living in Brazil you are eligible for citizenship, so then you wouldn’t have to renew. That would be way easier, and if you are a dual citizen you literally can go anywhere you want in the world. (Like Cuba.) Just use your Brazilian passport!

    Congrats!

  12. Trish says:

    Parabéns!!! To celebrate, I have your Guaraná Bolinha!!!

  13. Jenner says:

    Congratulations! I hope you stay here for a long time!
    You’re not alone. It may take months (1 to 4) even for a Brazilian to get his Brazilian passport. Or for an Italian to get his carta d’identità when he moves back from abroad (2 months)…

  14. skarrlette says:

    Why does it take so long. I applied for a ;permanent visa in Boston Ma and got in two months!

  15. Pingback: Day 145: Leitoa á Pururuca | born again brazilian

  16. Pingback: Brazilian Challenge Day 159: Entrepreneur | born again brazilian

  17. scrubgrub says:

    congrats!!! We’re in the process of making my little boy a Brasilian too 🙂

  18. Roger Vandevert says:

    Well, the time for me has quickly, so it seems arrived. My card will expire on May 1 2013 and that’s around the corner. Does anyone know if I can renew it here in California at the S.F. Consulado?

  19. Roger Vandevert says:

    Well, the time for me has arrived quickly, so it seems. My card will expire on May 1 2013 and that’s around the corner. Does anyone know if I can renew it here in California at the S.F. Consulado?

What do you think?

