Day 143: Mortadela

In response to the Day 133 Café da Manhã post, Ray mentioned a meat product that was unfamiliar to me – Mortadela. So I thought I would try some for lunch yesterday – Day 143 of my challenge to be more like the Brazilians.

I made a Mortadela and cheese sandwich on multigrain bread. Not bad, not bad. Somewhat reminiscent of my Oscar Meyer bologna and Kraft Cheese Slice on Roman Meal Whole Grain bread I used to not enjoy as a kid (my parents were against the classic Wonder White Bread all the other kids got to eat their bologna on, but now as a parent I understand why.)

Perhaps I’ll surprise my Brazilian husband with this for breakfast tomorrow.

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Day 143: Mortadela

  1. ROMAN MEAL!!! We had to eat that, too. 🙂 My dad also used wheat germ as an ice cream topping- Ioved it. We grew up near Italian immigrants….so had mortadela. It’s a little different here, but I like it. But…uh…can only get it if I go somewhere else. Buritis does not have it.

  2. Becky says:

    Ugh i hate this stuff. My inlaws always try to give me some… I just can’t do it. I really don’t enjoy processed meats. I love your blog… this whole journey is so fun! A bit more brazilian, every day!

  3. Ray says:

    Dear B.A.B,

    You must go to the “Mercadao”, ( Mercado Municipal) downtown Sao Paulo on a weekend and eat the most famous sandwhich in Sao Paulo. A mortadela sandwich, you will love the experience, you will basically only hear people speaking English all around you. It has become the ultimate Sao Paulo experience, and it goes down very well with a frosty mug of an awesome dark draft beer! They are enourmous sandwiches by the way and totally worth a try! 🙂

    Abracos

    Ray

  4. Karina says:

    I don’t know how you did prepare it, but if you warm a little bit in a frying pan, or a tostex (http://gutocapucho.zip.net/images/tostex.jpg) it gets much better :). Tostex is better than the sandwich maker, the bread will get a crunchier crust. There are tostex for both ‘pão francês’ and ‘pão de forma’.

  5. Jenner says:

    Mortadella Ceratti was founded 80 years ago by the cousin of my grandmother! And it is in the hands of the family since then…
    I don’t want to diminish my relative’s product, but real Bologna’s mortadella is lighter (in terms of color), fattier, softier and tastier… By the way, eating light mortadella with Islamic certification is a mortal sin. Move to the full one!
    Anyway, it’s a real Paulistana experience brought by the people of Emilia and Veneto!

    From Wikipedia: Halal (Arabic: lawful) is a term designating any object or an action which is permissible to use or engage in, according to Islamic law. The term is used to designate food seen as permissible according to Islamic law. The opposite of this word is haraam.

    • Jenner says:

      1. Softer, not “softier”…
      2. Eating light (low-fat) mortadella…
      3. Mortadella: Italian; Mortadela: Brazilian…

    • Wow. Very interesting. Does that make you, like, a Mortadella King or something? 😉
      I was wonder who was going to call me out on the “light” version… I’m working my way up slowly from Mortadela light to one of those big sandwiches at the Mercado as Ray suggested.

      • Jenner says:

        Ceratti’s mortadela is still low-fat when compared to Bologna’s mortadella. So, go ahead!
        And no, I’m not in the mortadela(mortadella) business… lol…
        Do you want to buy a new apartment? That’s my business. You pay now, I hope I can give you the keys later!

  6. Pingback: Brazilian Challenge Day 223: The Mortadela Sandwich at Mercado | born again brazilian

What do you think?

