Day 142: Nhá Benta

It’s hard to come by a Brazilian who doesn’t sigh with childhood nostalgia at the mention of Nhá Benta. A marshmallow fluff bullet “grande” covered in high quality chocolate, this sweet delight is made by Kopenhagen, a Brazilian candy favorite.

Devouring this delicacy brought back memories of my own. I’m quite certain that the Americans had something similar, while perhaps not so decadent. (Maybe a marshmallow bunny?)

A gift from a great friend (really meant for my daughter, not myself – can’t I help but indulge…) made for a super Brazilian experience on Day 142. All I will end with is – heavenly sugar high!

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Expatriate Info & Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Day 142: Nhá Benta

  1. Andrew Francis says:

    To enrich your Brazilian experience, are you familiar with the traditional yet politically incorrect name for that sweet? 🙂

    • No, nope. HA. Not sure I want too. 😉

    • Jenner says:

      Andrew, this is a family blog! lol… And I don’t have a clue…
      It’s a wealthy Brazilian kid memory, in my opinion.
      Have you tried the Gourmet round candy box, BAB? it’s my favorite and the best benefit-cost ratio at Kopenhagen.

      • Yeah, the Nhá Benta appeared in a pretty fancy bag. Perhaps it is not part of EVERY Brazilian’s childhood memory. I’m going to hunt down some of the cheaper stuff, you know, just to compare (not because I love chocolate or anything.) No, haven’t tried the gourmet round box – this is actually my first run-in with Kopenhagen. But now you’ve given me an excuse to find it.

        • Marina says:

          Kopenhagen is an expensive brand, as to why you would think this sweet is only for wealthy children. However, as Andrew pointed out, the generic name for it is ‘Teta de Nega’ and it is available from many brands and at many price points. Translate at will – as also stated, it is quite politically incorrect from the American viewpoint and definitely not high class enough for fancy Kopenhagen to market!

  2. Erin Halm says:

    Oooh yeah! I love those too. And you are right, the doce de abobora is much better when it is the mushy type and not the candied ones. Still, it´s not my favorite. I much prefer a piece of cheesecake or key lime pie.

  3. Ray says:

    B.A.B,

    We grew up eating Nha Benta. I love it!!! It’s the absolute top brand. We also ate Dan Top, which is the same thing, from a competitor brand, Dan Top is the most popular, a lot cheaper, of much lower quality, but we loved it and ate it frozen! You should try Dan Top brand at least once 😉

  4. Eri says:

    Oi,
    Além do Dan Top que o Ray mencionou, tem também o MonteBello da CacauShow com sabor de maracujá/coco etc. O chocolate não é tão bom quanto o da Kopenhagen, mas eu adoro a variedade de sabores.

    Eri

  5. Stephanie says:

    Wow, how timely! I was just telling my son just yesterday about the chocolate covered marshmellow cookies I grew up eating in California. They were called Pinwheels (by Nabisco). Marshmellow vibes are in the air I guess! I have tried these Nha Bentas from Koppenhagen, and I try to forget that they even exist. I’m so happy you can’t buy this stuff at the grocery store, makes it easier to resist.

  6. workmomad says:

    It looks scrumptious! Maybe someday I will get to try one.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com

  7. Pingback: Brazilian Challenge Day 165: More Souvenirs | born again brazilian

  8. gigi says:

    Omg!! Yummiii….I sure would like to have a taste of this chocolate! I actually saw a bit on this T.V show about food and there it was….the nhà benta!…
    p.s.. I’m a chocoholic lover…where can I find these delicious sweet delight.

What do you think?

