Day 139: Fazenda!

We are off for a long weekend at a fazenda!

A fazenda is a farm turned hotel/resort. It’s mostly focused on family/kid activities and this is our first time going to one. We hope there is some horseback riding and hiking in our future this weekend. It will be great to get out of the city for a few days.

I’m certain there will be all sorts of Brazilian things for me to do there to fill up my weekend!

 

 

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Expatriate Info & Advice, Living in Sao Paulo, Tourist Info and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 139: Fazenda!

  1. Renato Lourenço says:

    Hi. i read your blog, and i see that in many stances you called Brasil a third world country, but we are not. You don’t have the right to come to my country and call it a third worlder, or any depreciative or derrogatory term. This outrageous expression was created in the post-WW2 years, and divided the countries between the USA block as the “first world”, the URSS-comunist block as second, and the rest of the countries who weren’t as much involved in the war as third. But nowadays, is used as a depreciative term against countries like mine. I see that you are married to a brazilian. Do you think he is, using a loose expression, a third person? Because if the countries are made by the people in them, so they are the pure expression of it. And when you call a country “third world”, you are calling the people in it the same. You are clearly viewing Brasil as a exotic and subpar place, and maybe you’re not even realizing how ofensive some of your posts are. You talk about “becaming a brazilian”, and you leave between the lines the impression that the way to do it is lowering your life and intelectual standards. São Paulo is not a jungle for your amusing, it’s one of the 10 most rich cities in the world, and deserves respect. Here’s a famous brazilian expression for you: don’t spit on the plate that you eat. Sorry by the rage, but try to think like us, and see that it wouldn’t be nice for you to see your USA be called by things like “country of religious-fanatics, guns-lovers, racists-ignorants-fat-arrogants-decadents”. That’s some of the brazilian passive-agressive nature for you, as you called in one post. And for closers: Livraria Cultura is OVERWHELMING better then any Barney & Nobles. Period. Been in many stores in the US, and all of them were insipid. And messed.

    • Whoa! I think you’ve misunderstood my intentions here. If you really read my blog, you would know that my 366 day challenge to “be more Brazilian” is to engage and enjoy your culture instead of just hanging out with expats and watching U.S. television on my computer.

      First, yes, yes. Let’s agree that the term “third-world” is outdated. I’m pretty sure I’ve only used it in reference to the 12 ft, metal, death slides at the playgrounds and the fact that stop signs and crosswalks are pretty much ignored by drivers (ok, and that week that the post office ran out of stamps). But I’ve never used it in reference to the sophistication or intelligence of the people. Trust me, if we didn’t think that Brazil was the most current land of opportunity, we wouldn’t have moved from Manhattan to Sao Paulo.

      Second, if someone foreign to the U.S. got the impression that my country was full of religious fanatics, gunslingers and racists, I wouldn’t blame the person. I would blame our past President George W. Bush. As Americans, we love to make fun of ourselves (well, the religious fanatics, gunslingers and racists don’t so much). Just look at any American sitcom (Modern Family), a whole lot of books (ex. “Whiter Shade of Pale”) and we even have a news program that makes fun of Americans (Jon Stewart). So, if I am finding humor in my everyday experiences, I’m, well… just being American. (Don’t hate me because I am American!) Trust me, if I was documenting my experiences in the U.S., there would be a similar balance of wacky and wonderful.

      Third, are my Brazilian family (husband included) and friends sometimes offended by one or two of my posts? Perhaps. Am I sometimes offended when a Brazilian tells me that I should put a sweater on my child, explains to me that the plastic surgery here is both good and inexpensive, and points out that my face is much rounder than when they last saw me? Sure. So what?

      Fourth, (Americans like to number things) am I making a broad generalization when I suggest that having my underwear ironed is making me more Brazilian? Maybe. But I’d put money on the fact that if you took a survey in Brazil and asked the question “Do you like to have your underwear ironed?” – more than 70% would respond “yes.” If you asked the same question of people in the U.S., you would have a Starbucks coffee thrown in your face and be called a pervert. So you decide.

      Finally, don’t worry about me finding you passive-aggressive. You are clearly aggressive. Perhaps you are feeling a little insecure about your own country? We have a saying in the U.S. too – “He who smelt it dealt it.”

      P.S. The kids section at Livraria Cultura was a total mess and there weren’t even any children around. The people were also rude. At Barnes & Noble, they wouldn’t even let me set my coffee on the shelf while I flipped through a book – that’s how not messy they are.

  2. anna says:

    fazenda means farm.
    farm turned hotel/resort is called “hotel fazenda”.

What do you think?

