Day 136: The Goody Bag

Like many Brazilians, and most expats, I asked some friends me some stuff from the U.S. when visiting. And on Day 136 – I received it! And more!

As I mentioned many times, imported items in Brazil are ridiculously expensive. So when you travel outside, or when people come in, there is always space saved for longed for stuff.

While I had only requested some vitamins and a few birthday gifts, my cool friends sent some extra like Tide stain removing pens and marshmallows! Excellent!

Seems strange? Just wait. You may find yourself relying on the underground system one day too.

This entry was posted in Expatriate Info & Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Day 136: The Goody Bag

  1. My favorite pens…….and adequate post-it notes!!!!!!!

  2. Hey! So glad to be able to be a part of your blog 🙂 Its the little things you miss, right? Well, the big things too, but I always loved being able to load up bags of stuff on our way back to SP. I went a little crazy back then.
    xoxox

  3. Mereddith says:

    We are those people. My friend’s boyfriend brought us cloth diapers before the baby came. A close friend brought vitamins for my husband and my sister is sending me underwear. Gotta love it!

  4. Jenner says:

    I beg your pardon, but why is this post #136? I thought the numbering was intended only for Brazilian experiences! By the way, the little things we bring from abroad tell a lot about our origins and cultural differences…
    I would never bring to Brazil American stationery, candies and vitamins…
    But I always bring from Europe Italian wine, Swiss chocolate (from Lindt and Goldkenn), Italian liqueur, English body soap (from Lush), alice (Italian salted sardine)…

  5. Stephanie says:

    I’m with you! It totally is Brazilian and expatian. And understandable when you have to pay up to 10x’s more for the same stuff, or even worse, never find it here. I have been a mule more times that I can count for Brazilian friends and family. And I am very appreciative to be on the receiving end as well! It’s funny the things that were once taken for granted now make you deliriously happy to enjoy when you’re lucky enough to have someone coming to visit or sending a care package.

What do you think?

