Day 133: Café da Manhã

Denny’s lumberjack slam

Saturday morning, day 133 of my challenge to be more Brazilian, we had a real café da manhã – Brazilian breakfast.

First, let’s talk about a classic American breakfast, just for comparison sake. A stereotypical American breakfast, straight from the Denny’s menu, will consist of pancakes, hash browns, sunny-side up eggs, and breakfast sausage. Maybe even a side of bacon. You wash it down with a few cups of coffee and a big glass of orange juice. This or a bowl of Cap’n Crunch.

Now the truth is, I rarely ate either of these types of breakfasts. If I ate breakfast at all, it would be on the weekend and we would be seeking out a salmon and cream cheese laden bagel, complete with capers and red onions. But that was us.

However, I am going to dish out what I’ve observed is a typical Brazilian breakfast, which I enjoyed Saturday morning.

Fruit, of course, and coffee (strong) with french rolls, queijo prat0, sliced turkey, maybe a little diced tomatoes and some sort of cake. Oh, and a big pitcher of some kind of melon juice, like watermelon.

Ok I’ll ask, although I’m sure you all will tell me anyway – What am I missing on the Brazilian breakfast table?

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Day 133: Café da Manhã

  1. Becky says:

    haha one day while I was living in Sao Paulo going to school, my husband came to visit me. While he was sleeping one morning I snuck out to prepare what I considered to be a Brazilian Breakfast that included everything you’ve got listed there (except it was ham, not turkey). The only thing I added was Toddy for my husband and roomates to choose which they preferred, hahaha. I made pineapple juice if i’m not mistaken…..

  2. It all looks delicious! Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

  3. Trish says:

    Requeijão for the French rolls…and fresh Minas cheese!

  4. juliana says:

    iogurt!!

  5. Ray says:

    B.A.B,

    You pretty much got it. I would say, ham is probably still more common than ham, and I would definitely add eggs. Brazilians love “Ovo quente” which is an egg lighly boiled, the inside must still by very soft. We even use little “Egg holders”, so they stand up while you use the tiny little spoons to scoop up the soft hot egg. We also make “Gemada” which is a raw egg yolk beaten with sugar, then we add hot steamed milk and sometimes a tiny bit of Port wine for taste, yes, even for the children, no one ever got drunk with a spoon of Port Wine added to a Gemada for good taste 🙂
    Trish is right, requeijao is a huge part of Brazilian breakfast and Fresh Farmers cheese or “Queijo Branco”, sometimes melted on the grill!!
    Another all time favorite is Orange Juice, sometimes mixed with Papaya juice, a great and healthy combination.
    You really got me salivating here, with the great memories of Brazilian breakfast items!!

    Abraco

    Ray

  6. Ray says:

    Oops, I meant ham is more common than turkey! 🙂

  7. Ray says:

    OMG!! How could I have forgotten about MORTADELA!!!!!!!
    It’s an all time BRAZILIAN staple of the breakfast table, it was kind of considered “the poor man’s ham”, but Mortadela has become very fancy lately, with pistachios, almonds, prociutto, you name it. Plus, the Mercadao in Sao Paulo has rescued some of the Mortadela’s old charm. 🙂
    Salami is also a staple in Sao Paulo. I never sat at a breakfast table at my parents without a good ol’Salami!! 🙂

    • What?! I’ve never heard of this! Must try. (Or perhaps I have and didn’t know the name…)

      • Ray says:

        Mortadela is that cold cut they use to make those HUGE sandwiches at the MERCADO downtown! It is a Sao Paulo tradition, very popular at most padarias. We can find “mortadela” in the US as well, mostly where you find Italians… 🙂
        When I visited the museum of Immigration in Sao Paulo, I learned that they used to give every immigrant a Mortadela sandwich as soon as they walked out of the train bringing them from the harbor. The Japanese immigrants couldn’t stand to eat Mortadela, so they threw the meat away and ate only the french roll. Nedless to say, the Italians thought they were crazy to throw the meat away and eat the empty bread…talk about cultural shock, poor Japanese immigrants… 🙂

        • Wow. That is so interesting. Can you imagine what the Japanese were thinking?

          • Ray says:

            The tourist guide at the museum told us the Japanese thought it was horse meat or something exotic like that, because they had heard Europeans ate horse meat. They were not used to cold cuts such as salami, mortadela or prociutto. I can imagine how weird they thought western foods were. And just for the record, Mortadela is made with beef. 🙂

            Ray

          • Andrew Francis says:

            Hold on a sec, that’s not right, mortadela (aka baloney) is made from pork, not beef. And the French do actually eat horse meat, but that’s neither here nor there. 🙂

  8. Corinne says:

    here in Minas café da manhã would not be complete without some pão de queijo!

  9. Andrew Francis says:

    Agreed with everything in the post and the comments except for one: tomatoes? I can’t imagine that one in a Brazilian breakfast. Yeah, I know it’s a fruit but we treat like a vegetable (avocado, anyone? :))

    Ray, I think you’re giving your age away by bringing up gemada. Didn’t that go out of fashion along with military presidents? 😛

  10. Jenner says:

    You are missing cheese bread (pão de queijo), as Corinne said, and grilled bread (pão na chapa), the poor man’s breakfast staple. In Northern Brazil, you would have also tapioca and some exotic fruit juice.
    I made a list of un-Brazilian things perceived as Brazilian by expats in my blog. Could you please help me?

    • Andrew Francis says:

      Pao na chapa, definitely, but would you have it at home? For me, it’s always something I would eat at a padaria or boteco.

    • Funny, I really don’t see pão de queijo on the breakfast table here nor in Rio (except on hotel buffets). Maybe it is regional. I usually see it appear at lunch or for snacks. But that may just be my experience.
      Sure – I’ll take a look at what you’ve got on your blog (I’m a little afraid… 🙂

    • Jenner says:

      Yes, Brazilians have pão na chapa for breakfast in padarias because they have it at home too. At my construction enterprise, the union requires us to give one pão na chapa for every employee for breakfast, plus one fruit, coffee and milk. My ex-wife, a typical mineira, has pão na chapa at breakfast almost everyday. As I said, it’s the poor man’s staple. Yummy and affordable…

  11. Julia says:

    No Nordeste nós comemos aipim, inhame e banana da terra (cozida!) no café da manhã também. Cozinhamos com água e sal e comemos com um pouco de manteiga em cima. Você já experimentou?

What do you think?

