Day 121: Tang Goiaba

Anyone out there in the U.S. remember Tang? An orange “flavored” drink that used to come in a plastic canister? The one that NASA developed?

I love that Tang tastes “orangy.” Is it even sold in the U.S. anymore?

Well guess what, it is readily available here in Brazil. And not just in orange flavor.

Day 121, I tried goiaba flavored Tang. Who would have thought?

Goiaba is a fruit that grows in Brazil and actually has some medicinal benefits. (More about goiaba here.) Tang is available in a whole mess of flavors here, including mango and pineapple.

I’ve yet to try the actual goiaba fruit, but the Tang drink version was actually pretty good. Of course, reading the label you discover that only 1% of the powder mix is derived from the actual fruit.

Not that the U.S. Tang was full of oranges or anything.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 121: Tang Goiaba

  1. madamecroquette says:

    I’m from Colombia and we have awesome Tangs too! We have passion fruit, guanabana, and guavas!

  2. Andrew Francis says:

    Personally, I’m not a big fan of guavas. If I had to choose, I’d go for the pink fleshed ones (goiaba vermelha). However, I quite enjoy goiabada (the sticky sweet made from guavas) with requeijao. From what I hear, the more upmarket version (similar to a homemade guava compote, served with cream, I think) has made a comeback as a cool dessert for parties, but I haven’t had a chance to try it yet…

  3. Andrew Francis says:

    BTW, I had no idea Tang was developed by NASA. That’s pretty cool! 🙂

  4. I remember reading at another expat’s blog that “Halls ( http://www.paodeacucar.com.br/busca/halls ) is some kind of medicine for the throat in the US, but here is like an ordinary candy everyone eats, there are several flavours. And the guy from the blog was like: “Why do they eat medicine like it was candy?”
    Crazy world…

    • True. Halls in the U.S. is purely medicinal. But perhaps Halls saw an opportunity to tap into another market in Brazil with a variety of flavors. Who knows how these business strategies unfold… but here in Brazil, Halls are more like a candy than a medicine.

  5. Ray says:

    B.A.B,

    We love Tang Goiaba and we can find it at our local Stop & Shop 🙂
    Orange Tang is still widely available in the US by the way!! They also have different flavors here now, like Fruit Punch and some funky Blue, maybe Blueberry or Blue Rasberry or something like that… 🙂

    Ray

  6. “Have a blast, have some Tang.”
    Lol. Crappy puns have been around for a while I guess. Personally I think Tang is out of this world (notice that this one is mine, hence not crappy).

  7. Tiffany says:

    There are shelves full of Tang in Brazil! I personally am not a Tang girl, but whatever… I guess some people like it A LOT.

  8. scrubgrub says:

    my nanny mixes it with milk…we literally buy tang just for her (and well now my kid as he’s fallen or her drink of choice too). I guess Tang and milk is the poor man’s “vitamina”

What do you think?

