Day 114: Caquilicious!

Yesterday, day 114 of my challenge to become more Brazilian, I enjoyed one of the finer things in Brazilian life… caqui! One of our purchases from the organic market, the caqui looks kind of like a tomato (my daughter is convinced it is one), but is a fruit whose inner flesh is tender and sweet – but not too sweet. While originally a fruit of Asia (apparently the Japanese brought it to Brazil), the caqui is home grown in the state of Sao Paulo. Lucky me, because it is delicious. However, caqui is around only in the Brazilian autumn season (now).

If you are in Brazil and have the opportunity to grab one of these at a feira, I highly recommend you do.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Expatriate Info & Advice, Living in Sao Paulo, Tourist Info and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 114: Caquilicious!

  1. Melissa says:

    I used to eat these all the time while living in Korea and was so happy when I found them here today! I’m still on the hunt for dragon fruit and rambutans. I heard that they were available here, but I have yet to see them.

  2. Jana says:

    Oh wow, Ill have to look out for these looks yummy!!!! in other news, did you see that MYyoga doesnt do lunch anymore? Im totally bummed.

  3. It looks like a “persimmon”. If it is, yum!

  4. Tiffany says:

    I have never tried, but I guess I will have to next time we are there in Brazilian Autumn. I love trying new fruits and veggies!

  5. Caquui reminds me of what I call a ‘Korean Persimmon’ (because I found it at a Korean grocery store in LA) but I don’t know the real name in the USA. Yummy!

What do you think?

