Day 113: Planetário

Day 113 of my challenge to expand my Brazil experience, we went to Sao Paulo’s planetarium. I’ll be honest, after the aquarium experience (see AquariScari), my expectations were low. Being from Chicago, I’m used to the Adler Planetarium with its super high technology and three full-sized theaters.

Did this museum, set in Parque Ibirapuera, exceed my expectations? No, the facilities were just about what I had guessed having viewed the building from the outside multiple times. However, we went today to attend their kids show, which was actually really good. Sure, their projector wasn’t the best. But my daughter and her friend got quite a ride through the galaxy in the dome theater and also got to see the planets in our solar system “up close” (although my daughter told me later that she was a bit scared at first). Plus, it was free, so who is really going to complain?

For more information about the Sao Paulo planetarium, click here.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Expatriate Info & Advice, Living in Sao Paulo, Tourist Info and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 113: Planetário

  1. Melissa says:

    I grew up not too far from the Wisconsin/Illinois border and my husband lived there while we were dating, so I’ve spent a lot of time in Chicago. I didn’t realize how spoiled we were with such fantastic museums, etc. so close! We recently went to the aquarium here in Belo Horizonte. My husband got my girls all excited by telling them they would get to see sharks and dolphins. Um, there was one turtle, about a dozen small tanks with some medium size fish, and a display of garbage on a beach. Definitely not on par with the Shedd Aquarium! Surprisingly, my girls liked the garbage display the best (after I told them it was like the Dora’s Mermaid Adventure game where Dora has to clean up the garbage from the beach to save the mermaids) so it wasn’t a complete failure!

    • Good save on the garbage display! Not sure if you read my post on the Sao Paulo aquarium, but for some reason they had a dark room with huge dinosaurs that moved and roared as well as a cave person display that resembled something from “Night of the Living Dead.” (Why?) My daughter was terrified and cried for at least ten minutes straight after seeing it and didn’t really recover the rest of the afternoon. There was no saving that situation. Was no for sure no Shedd Aquarium.

What do you think?

