Brazilian Challenge Day 101: Pão de Quejo

I’ve been challenged by a reader to take on some “real” cheese topics (you know who you are). So yesterday, day 101 of my challenge to be more Brazilian, I ate a nice, big pão de quejo.

Pão de queijo is a dangerous combination of bread and cheese. It is rather delicious in its simplicity, yet something I try and avoid due to its rather obvious impact on my weight.

Pão de queijo consists of two primary ingredients – manioc flour and Minas cheese, a cheese whose origin is the state of Minas de Gerais, both of which is nearly impossible to find in the U.S.  This padaria staple comes in two forms – big and you see above and little bite-sized nuggets. The bite-sized version is sold frozen at grocery stores, and it appears to come in a variety of styles, but they all mostly taste the same to me.

The popularity of pão de queijo in Brazil is second only to rice and beans. It makes a great snack, side dish or quick breakfast. Just don’t get too attached… or you will start to look like one.

If you are outside Brazil and interested in making some pão de queijo yourself, here is a recipe from Sonia Portuguese in both English and Portuguese using tapioca starch and parmesan. Not the same, but probably as close as you are going to get if you are in the U.S. For Brazilians, you just need to go around the corner.

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 101: Pão de Quejo

  1. I love this stuff. Whenever we went to the consulate, I used to get Carlos to hit the Brazilian bakery in SF. Yum-yum. I made it from scratch, but the mix was better! A few bakeries here put MSG in them (I can tell from the headache!) but that doesn’t stop me…. a little café com leite and pāo de queijo….I think I’m going now to get some!

  2. We found a latin market that carries this in frozen form – from a Brazilian company. All I need to do is pop it in the oven and its as good as what we had in SP. This was a great find here and was a big hit at our Brazilian BBQ the other week. So, when you move back, don’t worry too much – you will be able to get this 😉

  3. stephanie says:

    YUM. A definite favorite. I love it in the winter here when they are fresh out of the oven. YUM. I think I need to make a bakery run now.

  4. Alex says:

    Well I’ve never had it in Brazil, but at Fogo de Chão (they have locations here too!) I have overindulged in this little peice of heaven for sure. It is simply wonderful and amazing and when I’m in Brazil I will definitely turn into one. YOLO! (you only live once.)

    Abçs

  5. Jenner says:

    I’m so pleased to realize that my comments are taken into account! You made my day. 🙂
    Unfortunately, I have to go back to work now… 😦

  6. Andrew Francis says:

    As far as I know, tapioca starch is just a different name for the same ingredient that’s used in Brazil. There’s a difference between “polvilho azedo” and “polvilho doce” but that’s beyond my culinary knowledge. And if you don’t like parmesan, you can always use your beloved cheddar. 🙂 Seriously, that’s how we make it and it tastes quite alright.

What do you think?

