I’m not looking forward to the day my daughter no longer believes… though I suspect she’s suspects…

I was an expat wife

The Easter Bunny always knows where you liveYesterday I slipped two Lindt chocolate bunnies into my shopping basket and thought of how much Easter has changed now that my girls are teenagers. The first casualty was the early-morning Easter egg hunt, which thrilled them to the core when they were little. I can still remember Elder Daughter shrieking, “The Easter Bunny! He came! He came!” when she spied the foil-covered eggs, while her jammie-clad little sister toddled unsteadily from room to room, clutching fistfuls of chocolate and squealing with delight..

Chef Boyardee and I started tweaking our family traditions when we moved to Singapore. We knew it was probably impossible to replicate them exactly, and we were okay with that. Our goal was to do the best we could with the tools we had — an approach that worked out surprisingly well.

The most notable difference at Easter was the scaled-down family dinner: the girls missed…

View original post 471 more words

This entry was posted in Expatriate Info & Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Maria says:

    Enjoy it while it lasts!

What do you think?

