Brazilian Challenge Day 94: Cheddar

So I finally did it. I gave in. The cheese department of the Ministério do Desenvolvimento, Indústria e Comércio Exterior finally got my reais.

Today I coughed up the cash like a good Brazilian for a block of stupid expensive cheddar cheese.

A ten ounce block of organic cheese in the U.S. is about $6. In Brazil a block of generic imported cheddar cheese is about R$18 – which equates to U.S. $10. That’s a 66% increase in cheese price.

Darn it. I was just tired of avoiding dinners that lacked something without it. So tonight I made chili and piled cheddar cheese on top. Yum.

Tomorrow – turkey and cheddar sandwiches.

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 94: Cheddar

  1. scrubgrub says:

    I smuggled 4 blocks of it in.. but for me it is definitely worth the reais sometiemes. MMMM broccoli cheese soup.

  2. Word of warning to those foreigners buying cheese. You may think you’ve come across a reasonable block of cheddar, but there are fake cheeses floating around out there (I just recently got fooled by a imitation gouda). You’ll know one if you look carefully – it will say something like “quiejo cheddar tipo.” The word “tipo” is what should tip you off. This is, in no way, a cheddar. But instead a yellow colored, processed impostor.

  3. Danielle says:

    I bought cheddar once that said it was “real” cheddar but it wasn’t great. I’ve had really good luck with “queijo reino” (it tastes similar enough, in my opinion, and has the same melting properties) and also with “mozarella importada” from Carre Four. Not sure where it’s imported from, but it’s delicious

  4. Stephanie says:

    It’s totally worth the price, even if it is a bit pricy and mild. I pop for it too, it’s a taste of home well worth it! I remember, once, about 7 years ago, a store here in Rio stocked Monterey Jack, and sharp and mild cheddar…it only lasted about 4 months, now gone for years. So I will happily buy the mild cheddar cheese you are talking about as often as I can (and the local feta here too which is really good but expensive). It’s these little things that make a huge difference.

  5. Pingback: The Stalker | born again brazilian

  6. Alisha says:

    I live in Campinas, we just moved here 1 month ago, and my son is craving cheddar cheese. Where did you but this?

  7. Archie says:

    I have for the past 8 years spend time in Brasil. I live each year for about five months in São Paulo. I have searched all over during my times here for Cheddar. It is absolutely impossible to find here in Brasil. There are very poor imitations, usually an extremely bright yellow colour. They taste just like Rubber, no Crispness, no Bite, no Flavour. I have decided that the only way is before leaving home to take out of the Fridge my 6 large pieces of Vintage Cheddar. Place them in an airtight plastic container and put them in my Cabin Luggage. They are only out of the Fridge foe about 18 hours, and they are in Airtight containers, so straight into the Fridge here. This way I can nibble away, quire content, eating 1 each month.

What do you think?

