Brazilian Challenge Day 93: Birthday Gift

So I ran out of boy birthday gifts from my U.S. purchased stash. That means I had to go out and buy one.

Ugh. You might have read on my blog about how ridiculously expensive toys are in Brazil.   So the thought of going out to get one it was annoying. However, the one category that’s not a terrible value is children’s books.

So I went to Livraria Cultura, one of the biggest book sellers in Sao Paulo. I asked about the specific kind of book I wanted and I was led to this mess.

Really. There were just books dumped in front of books on top of books. No organization. No direction. I had one of the workers try and help me find what I was looking for. Once he realized the task was futile, he passed me to another employee and we sorted through the chaos. Finally I gave up and got something else.

Really missing Barnes & Noble right about now…

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Daily Escapades, Foreigner Insights, What the h*ll is that? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 93: Birthday Gift

  1. What a good idea! Next time I’m in the USA I think I should put together a girls & boys gift closet.

  2. Peg says:

    I gave books to my friend’s daughter for her 1st birthday and Christmas. The hard cardboard, very colorful and interactive books. They were so much less expensive than the crappy toys, and she LOVES them!

  3. Andrew Francis says:

    That picture is terrible. I’m a big fan of Livraria Cultura but I obviously haven’t used their children’s section much. Actually, we found some nice books for our daughter in the kids section of a Saraiva mega-store (yeah, I know, it’s not really that mega).

What do you think?

