Brazilian Challenge Day 87: Nanny Battle

I think I mentioned that we now share a nanny with my sister-in-law and brother-in-law (see Ahhh Baba!). We have her Wed-Fri night and they have her for the weekend.  Knowing what I know about the characters involved, I foresaw that this might become an issue. But I figured that the benefits outweighed the costs.

Now, however, the demands of the other party are infringing upon the agreed upon time we are paying for the help. I’d heard about Brazilians battling over nannies, but I never thought I might be involved in such an encounter.

Of course, I’ve chosen to engage Brazilian passive aggressive tactics in this scenario. But that’s not why I’m going to win this battle.

What I’ve learned in my mostly American life is this: The person who wants the deal the least has the upper hand. Always.

You see, I don’t NEED a nanny. I need her the night that I teach, and even then it is just so my husband isn’t pressured to rush home from work. The other nights are pure convenience. However, my sister-in-law, I kid you not, is unable to go a single hour without help. Seriously. No exaggeration. Not an hour.

So while I might learn something about business arrangements with my Brazilian relatives, she will learn something as well. Never show your cards.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 87: Nanny Battle

  1. Brasilicana says:

    Love the last line of this post – very Brazilian of you 🙂

    What, dare I ask, happens if your sister-in-law should happen to be without help for an hour? You’ve made me curious!

  2. It’s so true, isn’t it? I could give a crud about cars and clothes, and I always get great deals!

    Your poor sis-in-law….I was a nanny (very briefly) for extremely incompetent parents like that. They had 24/7 help for years, and had no idea how to be parents.

    • And in turn, their children will only learn how to be parents from the nannies.

      • Andrew Francis says:

        But if the children learned about parenting from their own parents, they would in turn need to hire nannies and the process would repeat itself. However, if they learned from the competent nannies instead, logically that would be a good thing because the process would self-correct. Or am I getting ahead of myself with this analysis?:)

        • Hmmm. I think it falls apart during the “they learned from competent nannies.” Some of the nannies here are good, but none are educated and culturally a lot of things are very different. I certainly wouldn’t want my daughter learning life-lessons from any of them.

  3. Alex says:

    Well if the fight gets any more heated….I’ll be your nanny! All I ask for in return is immigration papers and 1 loaf of bread per week.

    • HA! Sure! FYI – do NOT offer nanny services to any Brazilians. It’s not like babysitting in high school where you basically eat and watch T.V. and make sure a fire or an intruder doesn’t kill the sleeping children. You will find yourself mopping floors and cleaning the toilet of the little prince or princesses’ suite.

  4. Wrong:
    “Well if the fight gets any more heated….I’ll be your nanny! All I ask for in return is immigration papers and 1 loaf of bread per week.”

    Right:
    I may have some spare time opening up and and perhaps i coud do some nanny work. If that slot does open up for me I really don’t know what to ask in return for my services, at this moment I don’t really need much of anything . . .

What do you think?

