Brazilian Challenge Day 81: I got a job! – Part 2

Thanks to everyone for all the comments on the fact that I now have something a bit more intellectual on my plate! I’d rather not identify the actual school as I may get some good stories out of the experience.

Teaching was great fun! I forgot how much I enjoy having a live audience. Couple surprises – first, there was only one woman in the class. Second, the class started at 7 pm and by 6:30 pm a quarter of the class was in attendance. By 6:45 half the class was sitting in their seats. By the time 7 pm came around, everyone who was coming was in their seat. I totally called them out on this and my generalization that all Brazilians are late. Their excuse was traffic, but that really would only be an excuse if they all showed up at 8 pm. Hmmm… curious.

On the subject of English, turns out they were all forced to take the course in English if they wanted my particular discipline. In other words, there was not a Portuguese option. HA. Only one gentleman is going to struggle, but I’ll help him where I can and the other students are all happy to translate if necessary.

Pathetically excited about the next class.

 

 

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 81: I got a job! – Part 2

  1. Congrats! Do you get to design the course? I am sure you will get plenty of stories. I am curious about the ethnic / racial distribution in the class. Also, was the class supposed to start at 630?

  2. Karina says:

    Great 🙂 I can’t wait for the stories :).

  3. Alex says:

    It’s OK to be excited! And I wouldn’t call it pathetic, you’re doing something that will help you and help other people! =)

  4. Rami Alhames says:

    For the last 4 months I was struggling finding a job in São Paulo, no luck. Either I spend my day online/offline, with friends/recruitment agents(who refer to you as PRODUCT), no luck. That’s said, I want to CONGRATS you in this competitive market. All the best in your classes, the Brazilian way always different 😉

  5. It can definitely be argued that day 81 opened up a new phase in your Brazilian experience. You must be so happy. It’s cool to read about it. 🙂
    Yet let’s leave being pathetically excited to Val – when she encounters champagne that isn’t champagne.
    And wouldn’t it be poetic justice on all of us if the producers of Mulheres Ricas enroll her in your class in an attempt to broaden viewership.
    Day 87: and then the tranny in the second row said . . .

  6. anna says:

    congrats! i wish you all the best in this new phase of your life!

  7. Alexis says:

    How cool, & fun! I’m so excited for you… whether that makes me pathetic or not ;-).

What do you think?

