Brazilian Challenge Day 81: I got a job!

Yep, like many Brazilians, today I will work (for the first time) in Brazil. It’s not a full-time job, just one night a week, but it’s a start. I’ll be teaching a graduate business course at a university in Sao Paulo. In English. I just hope the students were also made aware that the course is in English.

I’ll finally have the opportunity to use my brain for tasks other than ones like trying to make a giraffe out of only red and brown playdough and contemplating the schemes on the most recent The Real Housewives of Orange County.

I’ll report back on my experience teaching a classroom full of Brazilians post class. Stay tune for “Brazilian Challenge Day 81: I got a job! – Part 2”

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 81: I got a job!

  1. megalagom says:

    That’s great news! Every little step counts towards something!

  2. Alex says:

    Parabens! That’s awesome.

    And if the students don’t understand you should charge them for “teaching them English in a creative way through Business situations.”

  3. Meredith says:

    Congrats. I’m curious to hear how it went.

  4. Jana says:

    Thats wonderful congratulations!!! It feels so much better having a job here than in the US, much more of a feat =)

  5. Karina says:

    Congratulations! Great news!

  6. Ray says:

    Congratulations!!!!!
    I think it’s a great contribution to Sao Paulo and Brazil!!!

    🙂

  7. nina says:

    Wow! That’s so exciting and teaching at USP is an honor! congrats and tell us all about it!

  8. sallybr says:

    You are teaching at USP.

    I ama biologist and biochemist graduated from USP back in 1986, and after that I had my own lab at the Dept Microbiology for a few years. I left Brazil for good in 93

    USP will always have a special place in my heart, and I go there every year during my visits to see my family and friends

    Hope youbwill have a great ime teaching!

  9. sallybr says:

    forgot the exclamation point after USP! (I wrote from my iPad late at night, so I apologize…;-)

  10. Andrew Francis says:

    I hope we are not getting ahead of ourselves in assuming you mean USP. Either way, it sounds fantastic so congratulations!

  11. sallybr says:

    Big oops…

    ok, no problem – you are right, it’ s better to keep it undisclosed, so you can share juicy bits about it here

    🙂

  12. scrubgrub says:

    Congrats!!

  13. Pingback: Brazilian Challenge Day 153: Cabular | born again brazilian

  14. Pingback: Brazilian Challenge Day 159: Entrepreneur | born again brazilian

What do you think?

