For Sao Paulo Yoga Fans and the Yoga Curious

So I found a Braziliant new yoga studio! This, in addition to the acupuncture and unclouded awareness of my current state, should help me shed all those pounds I loaded on my first 18 months in Sao Paulo.

I took note of the location about a year ago. But by the time I made it over there, the place had shut down. However, new owners took over, straight from a 4.5 year stint in India, and opened a gorgeous new studio! A lifestyle studio really, it has a cafe with some delicious food and beverages, including almond milk that they MAKE THEMSELVES and a boutique with all sorts of organic goodies. Seriously, this is one with USA written all over it (not that it’s better that way, just more comfortable for me…) – the best thing is, they are running a promotion right now until March 17th – you DON’T HAVE TO PAY A MEMBERSHIP FEE!

Ok, I know I sound like a commercial, but here’s the thing. Every single place charges a matricula “registration” that hovers around the amount of one month’s fee or more. Really. Sure, there might be a registration fee for some gyms or studios in the US… like US$20. And you can usually weasel your way out of it if you bargain, or you run into one of the many promotions that these gyms/studios offer. But most places in America don’t dare charge a hefty registration fee. It’s called being competitive.  Here…  it is like a conspiracy. Ever location that offers yoga, pilates, gym services, swimming lessons, ballet lessons, etc. charges matricula. I finally found a swimming school for Sophia that doesn’t (I don’t know how the matricula mafia has allowed them to stay in business) and I’m so thrilled, I don’t even care about anything else (although, had an “experimental” class, and it is a good school to boot!)

Back to yoga. This studio, MY YOGA, did not only not charge me a registration fee, but gave me 15% off a membership. And the place is chill, really. I love it. The owners, who also teach the classes, are super sweet. And they speak English! Ok, they don’t speak English to me in class unless I need it, but that’s because I’ve asked them not to, so I can learn. I’ve been a member a week and I’ve already taken 8 classes.

So if you are into yoga, or are yoga curious, and are in the Jardins area, you may want to hop on over there. (I love it there. I need them to stay in business.)

Here is the info:

My Yoga, Al. Franca, 444 / Jardins / SP

(11) 3171-2019

http://www.myyoga.com.br

This entry was posted in Brazilliant, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights, Living in Sao Paulo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to For Sao Paulo Yoga Fans and the Yoga Curious

  1. cthegringa says:

    I wish this was in Rio.

  2. arjungabriel says:

    Hey this is so nice Since I am in Sao Paulo at present. i know this area very well. So please enjoy. And I know how yoga is useful so please enjoy and become more aware about your body and yourslf through yoga.

  3. Andrew Francis says:

    “It’s called being competitive.”

    American gyms are more competitive than Brazilian gyms? But the two don’t compete with one another! Everyone charges registration fees in Brazil because there’s a cultural assumption that you are going to pay that sort of thing when you join. If everyone does the same thing, there’s no competitive angle. It’s like paying at least 15-20% tip on any kind of service in the US. Does that make Brazilian bars, restaurants or taxis more competitive than American ones? I don’t think so.

    For the record, I don’t think there’s a good justification for the registration fees, and I’m glad you found one that IS being more competitive by not charging in Brazil.

    • I meant competitive with each other. And I don’t think the tipping practice directly relates to it. In the U.S., many have a registration fee, but with all the promotions and specials the places offer, you never wind up paying it – that is the competitive angle. Promotions and specials.

      I agree – registration fees are ridiculous. But if everyone is doing it, you have no choice. However, now everyone is NOT doing it (or, this studio is, but they are following the U.S. model by having a promotion!)

      • Andrew Francis says:

        Yep, it’s good to hear someone is getting rid of registration fees (even temporarily). Can you have a word with them and see if they can do something about that 20% tip? 🙂

        I know the analogy isn’t perfect but it bites me every time I go to the US and a bartender expects a sizable tip for opening a bottle and pouring a drink into a glass.

        • Isn’t that ridiculous? And they EXPECT it even if the service is terrible!!Taxis too. It has really gotten out of control with tipping in the U.S. And I’ve done my share of waiting tables in my youth.

What do you think?

