Brazilian Challenge Day 48: Yoga and Brazilian Clothes

Today was another double Brazilian day!

First, I went to a yoga class in my neighborhood. It’s funny, in my past life, going to a new class for yoga or Pilates or cooking… anything really, would always surface some anxieties. Do I look fat in my yoga outfit? Am I going to fall over and hit someone while in tree pose? What if everyone else has more strength, endurance, flexibility… Certainly not dibilitating thoughts, I always still went, but it was there all the same.

But here, I’m such a freak show to the Brazilian as it is, it just doesn’t matter. No anxiety. Sometimes it is very freeing to be a foreigner.

The yoga class went well, and although the instructor did speak some English, he didn’t during the class other than asking if he could adjust me (I’m sure instructors definitely want to get that question across – some people lose it if you touch them!) The practice was pretty standard, although like the Pilates, not quite as intense as I was used to.

Next, I went to go buy myself some Brazilian clothes. As you may recall, my last attempt at this was a fail. Mostly because I was angry about the value equation. But on top of the fact that my clothes still don’t fit me, many have been ripped to shreds by the crappy washing machine that we bought here. So, today I went to Hering, which is like a Banana Republic/Gap kind of place with some lace thrown in, where there was a big sale. Right away, I told the sales person that I am an American and appalled by the price of things in Sao Paulo, so only point out that which is on sale (promoção). (See, similar freedom. In NYC, I would usually browse the full-price items, then slowly and inconspicuously make my way to the sale rack. But today I was wearing a pink baseball cap and a pair of yoga pants that my crappy washing machine had put a hole in, so what did it matter. Freak show.) She stuck with the sale stuff and I picked up some decent items that will get me through the holiday.

But I’m still not sold on Brazilian wear. I’m still dreaming of that Bloomingdale’s quarterly sale. Sigh.

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Daily Escapades, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 48: Yoga and Brazilian Clothes

  1. I so hear you on clothes. But I am not a big clothes fan, and would just go to Nordy’s twice a year- sale or not- and fill-in with Nord Rack/Marshall’s/TJ Maxx.

    This may be obvious, so excuse me if you’ve though of it, but can you find a boutique you like and just tell them to call you when they have something you might like? I found one here, and bought 2 very cute blouses for R$20 each (on sale) and they also are looking for some shorts for me. They text me or stop by the school with things they think I’ll like. I told them the clothing prices make my stomach hurt. (if that’s a Portuguese expression!) so it’s all good deals.

    • That is a Brazilliantly awesome idea. Thank you!!

    • Eri says:

      Como as máquinas de lavar são diferentes no Brasil (estou assumindo que você tenha uma maquina com abertura na parte de cima), 90% do tempo você tem que usar a lavagem rápida ou para roupas delicadas. Se você usar a lavagem completa as suas roupas não vão durar nada, lavagem completa é só para roupas muito sujas e resistentes.

      Se você quiser roupas mais baratas e não quiser ninguém te seguindo pela loja, você pode tentar a Renner, Riachuelo, C&A. Eu particularmente acho que em lojas menores você encontra roupas melhores, mesmo que mais caras.

      Jennifer,
      Esse tipo de coisa acontece só em cidades pequenas, em São Paulo vai ser bem dificil. Talvez se você tiver alguma amiga que seja dona de uma loja.

  2. Stephanie says:

    See, you’re already awesome here! That’s the attitude, go forward without worrying about too much else. Just blend and say “f-it!”. Use the force.

    Have to agree, how many times have my clothes been ruined? How many black t-shirts or exercise pants have I actually purchased while living here? OMG, over 50…because after 1 month of being worn/washed/ironed…and the whole lint issue…black doesn’t last here, and bad for me cause that’s what I like to wear.

    Casual clothes, I can basically consider trash within 4-6 months, it makes it easier to buy, really I’m not gonna fork out too much on lounge/work-out clothes anymore. Herring is good (they’re great for kid’s cotton shirts and sweat pants (for those winter months). Also Zara at the shopping here is good, especially when you hit a sale, because it’s actually, “a sale”…It doesn’t hurt anymore to buy a t-shirt for $29-59…gotta do it. But I always figure in at SOME POINT will be travelling back to the US and will buy a shit load of stuff to bring back. Shopping here is not a pleasure, unless you’re super-wealthy, which we’re not. Amazing to see quality put to the test. I SWEAR, despite my husband’s pleads, I’ve hung on to a lot of clothes that I arrived with over 8 years ago (mostly dresses, jeans, dress pants), but all high quality and guess what? I might not wear them every week but they have survived quite well. Some absolutely gorgeous dresses for occaisions I have never experienced here! NEVER (and honesly just keep them as a “fat gauge” mostly), but they have survided it here, with the humdiity, the washing machines that tear up your clothes with 50 min cycles, the ironing…quality is just that. I think if you have nice things (and I’m talking simple, like Macy’s Bloomie’s, Gap/BR/ and on and on) it you treat it decently give it some air and sun sometimes, it lasts. My closet is a testament! The crap stuff I buy around here doesn’t last, not for 6 months. And yes, I do realize that most of everything we buy everywhere comes from China. But I miss having nice clothes. Even nice cheap clothes to work out in. I know that once I buy a new t-shirt here, I can wear it once or twice before it is doomed. Maybe it’s my washing machine? OR the constant ironing?

    • Sometimes I feel like if I spend the money to go back to the U.S. to buy clothes and kids birthday presents, it is a wash! I really stocked up for my daughter, but for myself, I didn’t not in the t-shirt/casual clothes department – arch. Good advice, thanks!!

  3. Anna says:

    My mothers wash. mac. is front load. She used to have a top load and switched to front load and she said is much better than top load. She thinks the clothes last longer .

    link: http://housewares.about.com/lw/Home-Garden/Home-improvement-renovation/Top-Loading-vs-Front-Loading-Washers-Which-is-Better-.htm

What do you think?

