Brazilian Challenge Day 34: Brazilian Pilates

This is not me. I forgot to take a picture. But I did use this machine.

My challenge for the day was to go to a pilates class… with a Portuguese-only speaking instructor. I’ll admit, it was a bit scary. Not as scary as, say, going to a gynecologist or acupuncturist that speaks only Portuguese. But if you miss understand instructions on one of the pilates machines, it could result in injury.

But it all turned out OK. Sure, it was a challenge to breath in through my nose and out through my mouth AND pay attention to my core AND relax my shoulders AND interpret what the teacher was telling me. But I did just fine.

However, it did seem kind of easy. Kind of like when I took yoga classes in Barcelona and we mostly just laid under blankets on the floor. Anyway, we’ll see how I feel tomorrow, maybe she was targeting those muscles I didn’t even know I had.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 34: Brazilian Pilates

  1. I had a Pilates teacher in Berkeley who sang the counts “Annnnnd 1-2-3-4….”

    She was a great teacher and it was lovely. Other teachers NEVER measured up.

    • It’s hard when you find someone good and you leave them. I had a yoga teacher that I adored and gave excellent tips – so now I compare every teacher to her and feel a slight dissatisfaction! Maybe if the class is in Portuguese, it won’t matter…

  2. Peg says:

    I just started Pilates back in Houston and did it for two weeks (on those same machines). I liked it way more than I thought, so now I’m gonna try to find one here. I know there are at least two studios in town so I guess I’m going to have to get brave and go speak to them.

    My yoga class here is all in Portuguese, and very meditative. It’s an hour long class but we only end up doing a few strengthening poses for only about 15 minutes. The rest is breathing and relaxing. I wanted more of a work out, but I still like it.

    • That’s definitely on my list of tasks. There is a lot more talking and instructions in yoga… so I’m a bit nervous. There was a yoga studio near my daughter’s school and I marched over there one morning only to find it had closed down. You’ve inspired me to pick up the search again!

What do you think?

