Brazilian Challenge Day 29: Feira de Antiguidade

My Brazilian experience for today was going to be to learn how to use a pressure cooker. But as soon as the phrase “…and then it could basically become a bomb…” left my husband’s lips, I had to walk away. Another day.

So instead, we went to the feira de antiguidade on the Museu Brasileiro da Escultura (MuBE).

 

The feira is full of antiques, art, knick knacks and a few toys for sale. Fun to look at, but when I asked the price of a small box of legos for my daughter, I guess it must have been considered an “antique” because it was priced at R$90.

 

There are a few of these markets around the city on a Sunday, but this location is great because there are two museums to visit after you’re done browsing.

The sculptures of the MuBE are often outrageous and always stimulating.

The space is also interesting as an underground concrete multilevel exhibit hall.

 

The other museum in the area is the Museu da Imagem e do Som.

The photography exhibit was truly moving and included the winners of the Prêmio Internacional de Fotografia 2011.

Best of all, there is no charge to enter the MuBE  and the MIS is free on Sundays.

Gallery | This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights, Tourist Info and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 29: Feira de Antiguidade

  1. Brasilicana says:

    I’m still slightly afraid of the pressure cooker, but I use it :-/ According to my husband, the key to it not exploding is to make sure the release valve never gets plugged or stopped up with food gunk, and also to make sure the seal around the top is properly sealed.

  2. We had a pressure cooker disaster here (in the US) for xmas. My in-law was cooking some meat, and another in-law wiped off the lid (in an off-hand clean up kind of way). The lid popped off and steam and liquid shot up to the ceiling. Luckily no one was hurt, but that was some crazy explosion.

  3. Peg says:

    Luckily Brian doesn’t eat beans, so I take that as a sign that I don’t need to use a pressure cooker. I know you can make more in it, but I’m avoiding it.

    I’m so loving your challenge posts! I can’t wait to get back to RDO this week and jump into my own daily Brazilian life again.

  4. scrubgrub says:

    I used to be afraid of the pressure cookers too, as my mother ingrained that they blow up. But if you get a good one and it’s a new one, and you clean it properly, it’s not so scary, and it doesn’t go boom. From what I could see that was something that happened a lot in the 80’s or something, so thus the wide spread fear. We only cook beans in ours, but I’ve been meaning to try cooking meat in it as I hear it really tenderizes it super fast, unlike the slow cooker. And yes, I have obviously converted to the pressure cooker love. Do it!

  5. Pingback: São Paulo: Brazil’s New York - Travel, Food, and WineTravel, Food, and Wine

What do you think?

