Brazilian Challenge Day 24: Orkut

I thought that today, to be a bit more Brazilian, I would check out the social networking site popular with Brazilians – Orkut. But I was a bit late to the game.

Orkut is owned by Google and was very popular with followers in Brazil and India. Orkut’s layout is much different than Facebook, and I’ll admit as a Facebook user, I had a hard time navigating. And that’s despite the fact that Orkut is much simpler. My first clue that Orkut was no longer up-and-coming was that all the Brazilians I searched for had last been on the site circa 2008.

Then, I found an article stating that Facebook finally overcame Orkut in number of Brazilian users last year. (Facebook Finally Beats Google’s Orkut … in Brazil)

Oh well. At least I wasn’t missing anything.

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 24: Orkut

  1. I was just going to mention that article to you! In a way, it’s kind of nice that you don’t have to worry about that…one less social network to worry about. It’s also quite popular in Turkey. 🙂

What do you think?

