Mulheres Ricas, Week 3

Disclaimer: I’m not normally a mean-spirited person. But I feel that if a person offers herself or himself up on television for something as talentless as being rich, I get to make fun of that person. So if you feel any loyalty to one or more of the cast members on this show, you may want to skip these posts. I don’t want you to think I’m a bad person.

This week on Mulheres Ricas, we learn that Val is desperate to get kidnapped. Deborah invites her to attend a futebol game, and the woman goes dresses like a human jewelry display. I may be a stupid American, but I know enough not to draw any attention to myself in a crowd like this.

I learned a new term from one of the Real Housewives blogger sites. Histrionic Personality Disorder. Here is the wikipedia post on the subject, but here is a summary:

“People with this disorder are usually able to function at a high level and can be successful socially and professionally. People with histrionic personality disorder usually have good social skills, but they tend to use these skills to manipulate other people and become the center of attention.”

Additional symptoms may include:

  • Exhibitionist behavior.
  • Constant seeking of reassurance or approval.
  • Excessive dramatics with exaggerated displays of emotions, such as hugging someone they have just met or crying uncontrollably during a sad movie (Svrakie & Cloninger, 2005).
  • Excessive sensitivity to criticism or disapproval.
  • Proud of own personality, unwillingness to change and any change is viewed as a threat.
  • Inappropriately seductive appearance or behavior.
  • Somatic symptoms, and using these symptoms as a means of garnering attention.
  • A need to be the center of attention.
  • Low tolerance for frustration or delayed gratification.
  • Rapidly shifting emotional states that may appear superficial or exaggerated to others.

‘Nuff said about Val. (This describes 80% of the women you appear on Bravo’s Real Housewives series… FYI…)

We also learned that no one is going to mess with Lydia. Between the guns and the self defense classes, she, as well as her jewelry empire, is safe. No one was going to mess with her anyway because she’s built like a linebacker and dresses like a mafia wife. But just in case, she’s covered. I’m afraid your efforts are wasted Lydia, the criminals are going to skip right over you and head right for Val.

Next, Narcisa tricks Val into taking a ride in a helicopter and then tortures her. Here, we see a real evil (yet still hilarious) side to Narcisa.

Deborah assists her son in her race car driving career. Yawn.

Brunete goes on a blind date. I keep thinking I like Brunete until they shoot a scene in her bedroom where she has those giant photoshopped headshots of herself. The guy who is the subject of her blind date seems nice. But he is also a bit too “pretty.” I’m thinking he may just have wanted his 15 mins of fame. He also seems quite a bit younger than Brunete, which is making me want to seek out exactly how old Brunete is. Anyway, something dramatic happened in this scene, I know this because they had that bit of dramatic sound effect, but I couldn’t figure out what it was. Something about dancing… Anyway, big surprise, the pretty boy claimed they didn’t have any chemistry.

Post helicopter ride, Narcisa and Val take right to drinking (and whatever else). They open the window in the helicopter guy’s house and start yelling out the window. It’s interesting that Val’s catch phrase is “Hello.” Oh wait, it’s not interesting in the least bit.

Anyone else notice that when Val laughs, she laughs alone?

Narcissa and Val go to a “club” and dance and pretend to DJ.

The entire series is just really… sad. Sad, sad, sad.

Narcisa has a decorator come to her house to arrange pillows and help her buy really ugly stuff, but stuff that goes well with all the ugly crap she already has in her apartment. Let’s just talk about Narcisa’s plastic surgery for a moment. Some plastic surgeon cut her mouth too wide so that she looks like the Joker from Batman when they catch her at a side angle. And one of her eyes is a little tighter than the other. Assuming that fabulously wealthy women would spring for the best doctors in Brazil, and let’s take my Brazilian relatives’ word for it, Brazil has the best plastic surgeons, the only answer to this mystery is she gave her doctor some of her own drugs before the surgeries.

Narcisa seems to also have the camera catch people running up to her to get her autograph. But, I still can’t figure out why. Why would a six-year-old-boy want Narcisa’s autograph? Could the drug market really be working its way into the kindergartens these days?

Lydia has a team from Hola! magazine come to do a story and a photo shoot at her house. Lydia has spent three episodes wearing almost nothing but black clothes. So why, why why (?!) does she now decide to sport a cow-pattern jump suit for the cameras??!!

The viewing community of the Real Housewives series in the U.S. has been up-in-arms over allegations that the producers of the show have been “creating storylines” to drive drama. But now I kind of get it. It’s a bit boring to watch these rich women sit around and talk about how rich they are and other silly nonsense. In fact, I’m predicting that by the time the season is over, it’s going to be uncool to be rich in Brazil thanks to the show.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mulheres Ricas, Week 3

  1. Alex says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHHA

    I’m going to watch this later where people will not judge me for watching this.

    Narcisa is a crazy *itch.

    • Alex says:

      Oh god. Just watched it. Threw up a few times.

      The part that got me most was Narcisa being nuts, crying from seeing the Redentor and her “RIOOOOOOOOOOO EEEUUU TEEEE AMOOOOOO!!!!!!” and “que delicia!” which she said every 2 seconds.

      Pure bliss.

  2. I quit after surviving the entire first episode.
    How can you guys take it? It is sooo bad.
    Am I missing something here, is MR one of those shows you just love to hate, or hate to love? If so then Narcisa is rapidly turning into Alex’s J.R Ewing.

    • I’ll be honest. It took me awhile to get through this episode. Both painfully disgusting and a bit dull at times. I think it is in the “love to hate” category. I’m going to give it a couple more episodes, and if it doesn’t get better, I’m going back to the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills/Orange County/New York – equally as bad, but a little more action.

  3. B.A.B,
    I commend you on being an equal opportunity viewer when it comes to crap shows 🙂

  4. nina says:

    I tore up this episode on my blog too. It’s the only one I watch because of zombie pregnancy state, I had nothing else to watch on Brazilian TV. OK Cultura is a hell of a lot better but it’s the same thing day after day on cultura. Narcisa was on another Brazilian show, after seeing her ugly apartment I realized that I remembered that ugly apartment from Liga. Where they were doing a show on class extremes. Narcisa was so materialistic, she was acting more like Val in the episode of Liga.

    Anyway, as to your comment on rich not being cool because of the show “JA!”. Really, I am starting to think I could have a great career in consulting the rich how to live fabulous and be fabulous (hell that’s not my area). From a lot of the stuff I have seen in Brazil, they need help. How many ugly homes and apartments rich people own here? It’s like we’re in Florida.

    • Like they say – you can’t buy class! (or taste!)

      • nina says:

        I just watched some Real housewives of Orange county, I have only watch New York house wives season 2. And that was a long time ago. I did it to see the comparison and to have a better idea what the show was like in the US. OMG they’re stinking rich or act like it anyway. It seems at least a couple people were having money problems. BUT MY GOD, what little drama queens. They act like their 12! I’m now embarrassed to be American and blond. How many blonds (fake) do they have on that show, it’s freaky!

  5. Nor can you buy poverty ( I love that one).

What do you think?

