Brazilian Challenge Day 17: Amiga Brasileira

Today my road to becoming more Brazilian took me to hang out with a real Brazilian.

No, my other Brazilian friends, I’m afraid you don’t qualify as a “real” Brazilian in my book. You’ve lived outside of Brazil for ten or more years. Your English is perfect or near perfect. You know who the Real Housewives of Orange County are.

I’m talking a real Brazilian friend. Her English is as bad as my Portuguese (almost). We met up with her other real Brazilian friend. We went to the mall and dropped our kids off at a Espaco Infantil to make cupcakes and get their hair done and put on costumes. We then went and had a coffee.

I’ll be totally honest, I’ve been avoiding these types of friends. I’ll meet them, I’ll think “It would be great to have a real Brazilian friend.” And then I’ll avoid making plans or not put the effort out that I should. It’s cause it’s difficult, it’s unknown.

But today I had the greatest time! I’ve been totally missing out on the real Brazilians. Lesson learned.

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge, Brazilliant and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 17: Amiga Brasileira

  1. Hey, with all this socializing, you may run into a Mulher Rica….they are “real” Brazilians, right? 🙂 Parabéns!

  2. Alex says:

    Real Brazilians are the best!!!!!

  3. Brasilicana says:

    Good for you! I’m really impressed at how dedicated you are to your Brazilian challenges – most people have broken their New Year’s resolutions by now. By the end of the year, you may just be “born again” as a Brazilian! 😉

  4. Peg says:

    There are two girls in my yoga class in Rio das Ostras that have been friendly with me. I know I should invite them to meet for coffee or something too, but have let my nervousness stop me. I should do it, right?

    Of course, I’m also just as nervous to meet new people for coffee or whatever here in the States where they even speak the same language as me.

    At least in Brazil I can use the language as my excuse if it goes badly.

    • You should totally do it. Here, anything you do that is awkward or in appropriate you can blame on being American. It gives you a new freedom to take risks. Plus, Brazilian love coffee and will rarely turn down an opportunity.

  5. Danielle says:

    Congrats! That was a hard one.

What do you think?

