Brazilian Challenge Day 12: Guarana

As per the suggestion of fellow Brazil blogger Meredith, today my Brazilian experience was to drink a Guarana. A full strength one, not the diet version. I’m not a soda person, so I wouldn’t have come across a Guarana in my everyday life. It was a bit strong at first gulp, but I got a used to it. Especially since I drank it while eating a pastel. How Brazilian is that?? It only be more Brazilian if I drank the Guarana and ate the pastel standing up at the pastel stand. But my daughter was with me, and she’s got no patience for that.

Guarana is kind of like ginger ale, but replace the ginger taste with a more fruity flavor. The drink is not going to convert me to a soda drinker, but if I had to choose, I’d go with it.

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 12: Guarana

  1. Karina says:

    Next time, try the pastel with a “caldo de cana” (sugar cane juice?), on a street fair, that would be ‘brasileiríssimo’ :). Just take a look at the oil where they are frying it before ordering it,

  2. Meredith says:

    Yeah! I like guarana and I’m not really a soda drinker so to me it’s a bit different. I’m glad you liked it enough that you’d drink it again. And with a pastel…that is even more Brazilian.

    I don’t like caldo de cana but that’d be VERY Brazilian of you. That’s too sweet for me.

  3. Danielle says:

    Caldo de cana is kind of like what I imagine smoking crack is like. The first time you ingest it, you’re like “OH MY GOD, I CAN’T TAKE IT! IT’S TOO MUCH!” but then the next day you can’t stop thinking about it, and you don’t get any relief until you can drink it again. And you just might order 2 cups instead of 1, and you discover that it’s even better with lime juice mixed in. No, this has never happened to me.

  4. nina says:

    caldo de cana is good to mix with another fruit. I like it a lot with pineapple, not so much with lime. Rock on! Only like 350 more days to go!

  5. I think Antartica is the best tasting brand for Guaraná. You used to be able to get it in the USA through local Brazilian markets or “world” store, but now no more. I believe the US wanted them to make the drink using corn fructose and not sugar cane for the sweetener. Antartica didn’t want to do it, and so I think they banned (?) them from importing. Now all you can get is some other brands that made the switch, but totally not the same taste (either because the brand makes it differently, or the use of corn fructose…I don’t know).

    Here in Peru we have a pop drink called Guarana as well, but it’s red and has a flat taste…not very fizzy. They use it to mix in other drinks and I think they use it in mixed alcohol drinks like with Pisco. I saw it at a fair once and got a big glass of it because I thought it was the Brazilian one. They asked me if I wanted red or orange. haha I knew I was in trouble then. It isn’t very good, I don’t think. I guess it still is the same idea that is made from the Guarana berry (which is from the jungle) but the end result is not the same.

    I know you aren’t into pop, but have you ever tried Peru’s Inca Kola? It’s not too fizzy (seems to be a theme here now that I think about it…) and it tastes like bubble gum. Honest. I’ll put a post up from another blogger I know who did a nice write up about it.

    • Good for Antartica – sticking to their guns. I think I might have tried Inca Kola while in Peru (with a name like that, who wouldn’t!) But I’d love to try it again. I wonder if I can get it here. I’ll have to look. And I’ll watch for the post.

  6. scrubgrub says:

    Did you put the requisite 2 slices of oranges in your Guarana? Because if not, you were only halfway there 😉

What do you think?

