Brazilian Challenge Day 7: Malzbier

The element that made me a bit more Brazilian today was that I had a Malzbier with dinner. The drink, of German origins, is a low alcohol beverage that is just a little bit sweet but very much enjoyed by the Brazilians.  In this country, Bramha is the big distributor. I’ve never seen this type of brew in other countries, although I’ve heard it’s popular not just in Brazil and Germany, but also Austria and Switzerland. My mother-in-law told me that her doctors encouraged her to drink it at the end of her pregnancy to help breastfeeding (I believe it was Guinness that my doctor recommended in the U.S. for the same purposes…)

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 7: Malzbier

  1. Meredith says:

    Beer to help with breastfeeding? How?
    I haven’t had that beer yet but I will when a get a chance. Did you like it?

    • Yes, it is a common prescription. Not sure exactly what the magic ingredient is, but it is supposed to help produce milk. I didn’t ask questions, I just drank one a day. And Malzbier is yummy, you’ll probably like it.

  2. Danielle says:

    I love Malzibeir! But drinking while pregnant? I don’t know if I would accept that idea, even from a doctor!

  3. Brasilicana says:

    I love it too! It has so much more “character” than the regular Skol, Brahma, etc… I’m no beer connoisseur, but they’re pretty mediocre beers.

What do you think?

