Brazilian Challenge Day 5: Café Anyone?

Today, as part of my Brazilian Challenge, “tomei um café” in the AFTERNOON. To take a coffee in the morning, after lunch, and even after dinner is very routine for most of the Brazilian population. I normally would not do this (meaning never) for fear of being up all night. But today I accepted the offer. If I’m posting at 2am (Brazil time) you’ll know I’m suffering for my cause.

This entry was posted in 366 day Brazilian Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Brazilian Challenge Day 5: Café Anyone?

  1. Brasilicana says:

    Ha! You said “take a coffee” rather than “have a coffee” – that is a total Portuguese-ism 😉

    I can “tomar cafe” up to about 7 PM and it doesn’t keep me up. My husband, on the other hand, can drink coffee right up until bedtime and still sleep!

  2. Brasilicana says:

    Yes, he is. Maybe the tolerance comes from the fact that many drink coffee since childhood? Our 5- and 6-year-old nieces drink coffee (mixed with plenty of milk, of course, but still!)

  3. Shelley says:

    I come from a very tall family, and I NEVER wanted to be tall. I started drinking coffee/coke at age 12. I’m the shortest in my family.

  4. I’m caffeine sensitive, as is most of my family. My Grandfather was the first to notice it- in the 1930’s!

    I just got off it all- coffee, coke, Guarana, chimaron- as past of my Resolution Revolution. If I have an afternoon coffee, I’m up all night- till like 3am- or if I’m really tired I’ll just twilight sleep. It stinks!

    Here’s to you sleeping well tonight!

  5. Sarah says:

    My almost-four-year old has been requesting coffee for months (after seeing her little friends drink it, of course!) and I finally gave in and let her have a sip (just one!) the other day….but, of course, not before pulling out the “coffee will stunt your growth” line! I agree – the caffeine tolerance (and what’s probably worse, health-wise – the taste for salt) are definitely ingrained from a very young age here.

  6. LM says:

    I’ve been drinking coffee (sometimes black) everyday since childhood and I’m 1,72m – tall enough – and healthy. Always slept very well, sometimes too much. Same goes for sodas, I was raised on it. But I also had lots of vegetables, fruits and plenty of outdoor time and exercise. 🙂

What do you think?

