The Real Housewives of Sao Paulo… and Rio

Yes way. It finally happened. There’s a “Real Housewives of…” type show in Brazil and it premiered this week. It’s called “Mulheres Ricas” and follows the lives of five ridiculously rich women. Actually, it appears to be more specifically like “The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills” on acid. And damn it, I missed the first episode.

From what I’ve heard, saw and read, the producers went after the craziest rich women who were willing to go on television. My sister-in-law, who made me aware of the program, knows one of them and can confirm that this seems to be the strategy.

As there is still quite a huge discrepancy between the rich and the poor in Brazil, this show got quite a bit of backlash after it’s first episode.

I’ll be sitting pretty in front of my television next Monday, you can bet on it. And I’ll let you know what kind of disaster Brazilians are in for!

If interested, here is an article about the show the Guardian put out:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/jan/03/mulheres-ricas-brazil-rich-women

This is going to be my ticket to learning more Portuguese!!

This entry was posted in Brazilliant, Daily Escapades, What the h*ll is that? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Real Housewives of Sao Paulo… and Rio

  1. Rachel says:

    This is one Brazilian soap I would love to watch!

  2. Darn it…you just reminded me I did not watch TV yet today. Maybe I’ll start watching this, too. Reality TV is pretty boring…I would do such different editing.

  3. Alex says:

    OMG I wrote a post about this last night and told all my readers that you inspired me to post it! Check it out haah! But I think you’re right about Beverly Hills on Acid, ewww…….

  4. nina says:

    OMG!!!!! I watched this, it was gross. The women are so materialistic. They not entertaining insane, at least not in the first episode. One girl went to buy an airplane for 20 million heais and had an these two men in tow. She was so stupid and full of herself. Her husband said no to the plane and she rolled her eyes at it. Later, saying that it was like buying shoes for her.

    It reminded me just like the soap operas. BORING. anyway, it’s really really sad to have this in Brazil. People shopping for airplanes while the majority of the country can’t it isn’t entertaining. I thought Real Housewives was making fun of American culture and our crazy behavior, people who are just nutty and have too much time on the hands with some resources. I know Real Housewives generally have money, but also many of those families have since gone broke.

    I will probably see it again as my husband loves stupid reality tv and let you know. But maybe you can get subtitles???? I am sure it’s easy and that they are already available on the internet to download or stream.

  5. nina says:

    *can’t eat

  6. Anna says:

    I watched the first episode.
    Debora is down-to-earth and a good mom.
    Val is an airhead.
    Brunette is a very talented architect (I’ve met her personally and I have seen many projects made by her). She is a good person but in the first episode she seemed very obsessed with barbies and her dog.
    Narcisa is an alcoholic and drug addict. ( is or was not clear)
    Lydia I’ve never heard about her before. I am not sure yet what to say about her.

What do you think?

