Go Figure

This is one of the strangest statues I’ve come across in a while. As you can see, it is a man on all fours whose head and torso seem to be out of proportion to his arms and legs. He is holding up a flower and all anatomy is exposed if you know what I mean (and not particularly impressive considering his size).

It is located in Parque do Povo (park of the people) which is really a park for families. There was no explanation or panel describing this art as far as I could see.

Maybe there are some Paulistanos out there that can provide and explanation? Because I’m intrigued, in a kind of disturbed kind of way.

Update: Another View

Took this one today. I circled the statue, thinking perhaps I missed something.  But alas, no explanation. Anyone? Anyone? Bueller?

This entry was posted in Daily Escapades, Expatriate Info & Advice, Living in Sao Paulo, What the h*ll is that? and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Go Figure

  1. That is a very unusual statue…especially for a family park.

  2. I would really like to understand it, too. I can’t stop looking at it.

What do you think?

