Sao Paulo Zoo

I was never a big fan of zoos. I get the concept, all in the name of science and education. But I’ve seen some pretty sad establishments in my time. However, when you’ve got a kid, zoos are hard to avoid.

I didn’t know what to expect of a zoo in a third world country. Especially a city zoo. But I was pleasantly surprised by the Sao Paulo Zoo.

It’s quite expansive so you don’t feel quite so sorry for the animals. However, the birds lose out, trapped in their cages, though I myself couldn’t think of a better way to keep them around.

Watch out for the eagle/hawk feeding times, unless you want to teach your children a lesson about nature’s food chain.

Like the Sao Paulo aquarium, there are a couple oddities (must we throw a dinosaur into every attraction?)

But nothing of the too terrifying type (see AquariScari).

And of course, you can’t be in Brazil without running into a Saint or two.

There are plenty of snack stops for those small ones who become suddenly consumed with hunger or are craving some ice cream on a warm day.

The zoo even has a Zoo Safari, which we didn’t go on, but I can imagine from the looks of it, and the line to get on it, must be a good ride.


Aside from the wide selection of wildlife, from monkeys and turtles to camels and zebras, the park makes for a great stroll on a nice day. I still pity the animals a bit, the park cannot of course possibly replicate their natural habitats, but this zoo is the best one I’ve seen so far.

If interested, here is the official website for the Sao Paulo Zoo.


Gallery | This entry was posted in Brazilliant, Daily Escapades, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights, Tourist Info and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sao Paulo Zoo

  1. Brasilicana says:

    When I visited the Salvador zoo, I saw several animals breaking free of their cages! The monkeys could sneak out through a gap between the cage and a tree… a goat wriggled its way under the fence where there was a small depression in the ground… and there was a random peacock patrolling the footpaths, trying to seduce foreign women with his lovely feathers.

  2. I feel sad just looking at the pics :-(. I never go to zoos or circuses, knowing the suffering that’s happenning.

    And those lines about science and education are LIES. They only say that for the funding.

  3. Anna says:

    you should try the Zoo Safari , its good.

  4. scrubgrub says:

    Sounds like you didn’t go on a holiday or the weekend… we learned our lesson. My friend did the Safari and posted pics on her blog, looked really fun… but my kids 1 so not worth the money. He was more interested in the pigeons at the zoo than the animals.

  5. Pingback: You Know You Are In a Catholic Country When… | born again brazilian

What do you think?

