I Got Free Water!

One of the things that is Braziculous (see Brazilliant) is the fact that you can’t get a glass of complimentary tap water at a restaurant in Brazil. I get it, maybe the water quality isn’t the best, but I’ve seen some serious electronic water filters around that can’t cost must of anything. But no, paying for a bottle of “aqua sem gas” or “aqua com gas” is mandatory for hydration.

But tonight, that all changed. We went to Marakuthai for dinner, a Thai fusion place in our neighborhood. The waiter walked up to the table with a pitcher and asked us if we wanted some pepper/cucumber/herb infusion water. I immediately said “yes” excited by the idea of free water. My husband tried to convince me that it was all an illusion and we would be paying for those half filled glasses at the end of the visit. But I had faith.

Guess what! No charge! This is the first time I’ve patronized a restaurant in Brazil and have gotten a glass of free water! Thank you Marakuthai for adding that little extra – you probably have no idea how much it meant.

This entry was posted in Culture Conflicts, Daily Escapades, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights, Living in Sao Paulo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I Got Free Water!

  1. nina says:

    It’s such a treat when you get something for free that your used to paying for in your current country, that normally is free in your home country.

  2. Danielle says:

    you had me at “Thai dinner”

  3. scrubgrub says:

    oooh yummy even if they charged, I want to go there for the water sounds delish!

  4. Jana says:

    This is one of my favorite restaurants… like seriously I love this place! They have one in Ihlabela too and its right on the beach so you can sit in your creeky thai bamboo chair and sip your free water. its superb!

  5. workmomad says:

    What does “infused water” mean? I’ve never heard of it before; at least I think I haven’t.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

  6. Love the restaurant recommendations! Keep them coming… 🙂

  7. Pingback: Saturday Feijoada | born again brazilian

  8. Flávia says:

    I can´t remember how I stumbled upon your blog, but it´s great anyway! I´d like to suggest you another good restaurant where you can get free water – and a delicious “moqueca” (if you like fish and shrimps, try it!). It´s called São Benedito, at Praça Benedito Calixto, 78. Good luck in your new life here in the concrete jungle 🙂

  9. Pingback: More Free Water! | born again brazilian

What do you think?

