An American Puts on a Brazilian Birthday Party… Again

If you read about my Brazilian birthday party escapades from last year (see Barbies and Brigadeiro), you might recall that I pretty much swore I would NEVER do it again.

Well, guess what. Yes, that’s right, my Brazilian sister-in-law, the party planner extraordinaire, and I have been plotting away on the latest theme – Alice in Wonderland. And things have gone even crazier.

I’m not going to settle for your basic party store-bought invite you might find in the States, or even the post card style coinvite with the kid’s photo. No way. A bag of candy with bubbles and an eraser as a giveaway gift? Spit on that! I went to the U.S. and went Etsy crazy.

Check out my invitations hand-crafted from an actual classic Alice in Wonderland Disney book.


The giveaway bags will include, but not be limited to, hair ribbons fashioned into the likeness of Alice herself.

Guess who will be spending time making puff balls out of paper tissue to hang, somehow, from the ceiling. Just guess.

And don’t get me started on the dolls:

I’m even considering purchasing these Alice in Wonderland style trees from the CEASA flower market.

SOMEONE GET ME OFF THIS CRAZY ROLLER COASTER!

I’m not the only one who has lost their mind. My partner in crime spent the ENTIRE weekend styling the sweet table!

Yes, I know. I need to get a job. (Not only because I obviously need to fill my time, but also, this is not how my husband envisioned spending our retirement fund.)

Will I actually be ridiculous enough to buy trees? Do I really think I’m Martha Stewart? Will my daughter tell me once again at the conclusion of the party that her favorite part was… the balloons?

Stay tuned.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Crazy Adventures, Culture Conflicts, Foreigner Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to An American Puts on a Brazilian Birthday Party… Again

  1. Ray says:

    I think you should enjoy all you can. Your daughter will be a tenager in a blink of an eye and you all will have great memories from these great fun well elaborated parties. 🙂

    Ray
    PS:
    I would definitely buy the little trees by the way 😉

  2. Alex says:

    I like the little trees! I love plants in general!

    I wish I was a Brasileirinho. =( I want a party like that!

  3. Rachel says:

    If you have somewhere to keep the trees afterward I would totally go for it 🙂

  4. Jana says:

    Hahahaha you GO girl with your awesome ´beat that brazilian party planner mom´ attitude! I cant wait to see the results, um duh get the plants might as well finish with a cherry on top! =)

  5. Karina says:

    Why don’t you try to turn this gift of yours into a profession? You could be a birthday/party planner for expats, or something like that.

    • That is a great idea! Actually, my sister-in-law is the brains behind this operation. I have no creative talent when it comes to sweet tables (although I can put everything into a spreadsheet). She’s actually thinking along the same lines.

  6. I bet it will be a great party though.

  7. workmomad says:

    Well, don’t leave us in suspense – did you get the trees or not? 🙂

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

  8. Anna says:

    gorgeous trees! you should buy them!!!

    I loved the hair ribbons and the invitation. go crazy planning the party…its fun!

    This blog has great elaborated birthday parties!! http://happyfestcwb.blogspot.com/

What do you think?

