Driving Disorder

Brazilians… masters at turning a one or two lane road into a three lane road whenever deemed necessary.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Expatriate Info & Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Driving Disorder

  1. Jimeluiz says:

    I choose not to drive here in Brazil – mostly we don’t want the expense of a vehicle, and we live in the perfect location for bus transportaion — but if I did, I would be screamed at (honked at) by SO MANY other drivers because I would refuse to engage in the cut throat roller derby mess that is Brazilian traffic. I would be letting more agressive drivers pass and I would not participate in random acts of traffic violations.

    We have one friend who drives so irresponsibly (passing cars at high speeds with only a couple inches clearance) that I REFUSE to get in his car. Period. I yelled at him last time that he was going to kill his little daughter in the back seat with his outrageous risk taking.

    I prefer the calm of sleeping on the bus…

  2. I’m with you. I refuse to drive. I can walk or take a taxi (or now the subway!) anywhere I want to go.

    I know many like your friend – my husband was like that but has since adjusted his ways… although I still yell.
    Thanks for your comment!

  3. I would never survive on the roads there. On the upside, think of all the weight I’d lose by walking so much!

  4. Ray says:

    Guys, I hear you about Sao Paulo and Rio’s traffic mayhem, but I have to say Boston and Manhattan don’t stay much behind. We have had New York yellow cab drivers litteraly push our Expedition out of the way, using the Crown Victoria as a tool… 😦
    Miami is also brutal but I have to say drivers in Texas and Oklahoma are super calm and well behaved 🙂

    Ray

  5. Yeah, I didn’t drive in Manhattan either. Too many crazy taxis.

  6. workmomad says:

    I know I couldn’t handle driving there! I have a hard enough time just handling regular city traffic these days, since I have been doing most of my driving in small towns and on two lane country roads.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

What do you think?

