Bad Mothering in the Form of Noodles

Sao Paulo offers an INSANE variety of these ramen style noodles. I picked up a stack of them yesterday at the grocery store because a) our housekeeper likes to eat it for lunch and b) on an evening when I’m feeling really lazy, I’ll let my daughter have a package. Today was one of those days. The noodles are your basic boiled pasta sprinkled with a packet of chemical induced powder that tends to make a salty and unnaturally tasty meal (one nearly totally void of nutrition, despite what the package might imply).

I’m not sure what compelled me to add this package of “hot dog” flavored noodles to the stack. Maybe simple curiosity, maybe I’m a sucker for a pink package. The result was definitely a hot dog colored bowl of noodles – but this time pretty tasteless with a kind of greasy film. No false advertising there, I thought it through and it was definitely true to form of what one should expect from hot dog flavored anything.

And it dripped what I can only imagine is a permanent, hot dog colored stain on the pajamas I let her wear all day. Bad Mom.

This entry was posted in Expatriate Info & Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Bad Mothering in the Form of Noodles

  1. Rachel says:

    It happens! Even Moms need a break sometimes! When I do this I put the seasoning on the noodles (only about half a pack) and just a little bit of water. Then I mix in some black beans. I feel like at least they are getting a legume and my boys LOVE it.

  2. Sarah says:

    Mine ate olives for breakfast the other day, and the next day brigadeiro!

  3. HA! Ok, I’ll admit she’s had a peanut butter cookie for more than one breakfast. Come on – peanuts, egg, milk… that almost like a peanut butter sandwich… my mainstay meal as a kid! (And all right, I’ve had olives for breakfast before…)

  4. Ray says:

    I have to confess this is one of our guilty pleasures too 🙂
    We just trow away the little package of chemical seasoning and use our own natural flavors such as powered garlic, paprika, curry, trow an egg on top of it and call it a day 😉
    I can’t believe they made a “hot dog” flavored noddle! What’s next, bologna with Miracle Whip? 🙂

    Ray

  5. nina says:

    Miracle whip exists in Brazil? My husband’s family says women who cook ramen noodles, won’t get or can’t keep a husband. Although, none of them have husbands anyway.

  6. Corinne says:

    hot dog flavored ramen!! That is about as bad as the strogonoff flavored Ruffles I saw in the grocery store the other day. Don’t feel too bad, mine gets frozen chicken nuggets more than I would like to admit 🙂

  7. scrubgrub says:

    Ramen is the staple snack food in Hawaii. You take the dry noodles and crunch em up with the powder packet and you have got some tasty snack chip like things. I usually yakisoba it, with carrots, green onions, and cabbage so I can feel like I actually made something healthy… not much for the soup.
    My kid likes plain ole beans for some reason, so I just make the maid cook a bunch and freeze little kid size versions, it’s my I’m lazy and this is what you’re eating for lunch today meal.. that or torrada with pb smeared on it.

  8. We all have those dinners. Plain pasta with butter, or peanut butter and jelly…We do the best we can. Don’t judge yourself for the occasional kid-friendly dinner. 🙂

  9. Danielle says:

    haha, Alexandre and I buy these to eat when we’re drunk. I like to replace some of the fake powder with chicken bullion cubes. It doesn’t make much of a difference, but I like it!

  10. workmomad says:

    My favorite pasta-in-a-package is Kraft Macaroni N Cheese – the original kind, not any of the more recently proliferated siblings. I actually am quite picky about how I fix it – boil the pasta for seven minutes ONLY, add 3 tablespoons of butter and the cheese powder and mix it together. It tastes wonderful – it was so good in fact that when I made it while my Mom was here, she made me make two boxes of it, not just one, for four people so she could be sure she had enough. Now THAT is a compliment! If your daughter likes ramen noodles, and you like ramen noodles, why is it such a bad thing for her to have them once in a while?

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

What do you think?

