Virgin? Again?

When I saw this sign from the street, I didn’t know what to expect as I approached the store.

Turns out, it’s just a shop with clothing and accessories for women. I wonder if the Brazilians realize that it takes more than a few handbags to re-virginize. At least in the U.S. it does.

This entry was posted in Daily Escapades, Foreigner Insights, Living in Sao Paulo, What the h*ll is that?. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Virgin? Again?

  1. Ray says:

    Ha!This is too funny! I wonder what an impact a name like this would have at a store in the US! 🙂
    Ok, it would probably be censored.

  2. Probably. But I bet it would be very popular 🙂

  3. Alex says:

    I should go to that store and reflect on my life.

  4. Jana says:

    hahaha, love those fun finds =)

  5. workmomad says:

    Is there some hidden Brazilian meaning to the term, or did they just think the name of the store sounded good?

    • I really don’t know. There’s doesn’t seem to be any Brazilian references to re-virginizing (in fact, in a highly Catholic country, that’s pretty taboo). I can only think that it might have something to do with Madonna (the singer). The store was closed when I looked in, but I did see a purse with the picture of Madonna on it. Only taking a guess here, but maybe they are assuming that the song “Like A Virgin” will tie it all together for the shoppers. Although, I’m not sure how.

What do you think?

