Another Offering

This was sitting on the corner of Lorena and Casa Branca when I delivered my daughter to school. I don’t know how long it had been there, and I meant to check if it had remained when I picked her up that afternoon (I forgot), but just the fact that it survived 5 minutes in a neighborhood where the homeless roam is a tribute to the seriousness of some of the more indigenous beliefs in Brazil.

I first saw an offering on the street back in January of this year (see “Who do Voodoo?”) That particular offering, after doing a little research, appeared a bit more menacing. Though I didn’t look it up, red roses and a bottle of rosé seems a bit more romantic, like maybe a love request for the Umbanda spirits.

Or… someone was on their way to a romantic rendezvous, set it down to answer their cell, got distracted and forgot it.

I guess we’ll never know.

This entry was posted in Daily Escapades, Living in Sao Paulo, What the h*ll is that? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another Offering

  1. Ray says:

    B.A.B,

    This is really weird. I always kept my distance from this kind of stuff, but my European grandfather used to get really upset with “candonble” offerings. He would pick it up and throw it in the garbage, to my grandmother’s horror, she was very superticious. 🙂

    Ray

  2. Brasilicana says:

    This is super common here in Bahia!

    You may be right about the romantic offering. I remember talking to someone researching candomble who said that the vast majority of people who seek out the help of a mae-de-santo are doing so for love-related problems/requests.

    However, I’ve also heard some stories that give me chills… 😐

  3. workmomad says:

    What stories/screenplays you could draw up around that simple picture!

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com
    http://www.thefootballnovice.com

  4. Pingback: Halloween in Sao Paulo | born again brazilian

What do you think?

