Story Time Trauma

Today we took our daughter to the local bookstore for story time. A team of (I can only guess) aspiring actresses executed a highly interactive telling of… Macbeth. Yes, the tragedy that William Shakespeare wrote. Of all the children’s stories there are out there, it was decided that this particular Sunday afternoon the little children of Jardins Paulista were going to experience Macbeth. Sure, I know there are some pretty gruesome fairy tales out there, but this trio actually had the above prop and acted out a stabbing.

Cultural conflict or just the stupidity of a few? This is one of the few times that I’m grateful our daughter does not have a full grasp of the Portuguese language.

This entry was posted in Culture Conflicts, Daily Escapades, Foreigner Insights, What the h*ll is that? and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Story Time Trauma

    • Very interesting! And disturbing! But these children yesterday were 2 to 6 years. These articles are about performances targeted to children 8 years +, still – I am shocked, though I supposed it is nothing more violent/scary than what kids are seeing on television and/or experiencing in video games. Thanks for sending these!!

  1. Sarah says:

    Ha, that’s hilarious (if slightly disturbing.) I guess some kids see a lot worse on TV, but still….!

    • Yeah, I don’t know. Like I just mentioned to Ana, these kids were 2 to 6 years. But now that I think about it, my daughter has taken in a good dose of Disney’s Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, Beauty and the Beast – all of which display a healthy heaping of violence. (Which we have now backed off because she doesn’t want to sleep by herself at night.)

  2. workmomad says:

    I agree with you; the bloody knife in the center of the room is over the top.

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventures.com

  3. Did I mention that they used it to reenact a stabbing? They also had red tissue paper for blood, which my daughter busily collected and stuffed into her pockets.

What do you think?

