Warning: Smoking Will Scare You

Apparently, the tobacco lobbyists in Brazil don’t have the same power as they do in the U.S.

Yes, this is what you think it is. A cigarette ad, complete with the Brazilian version of a Surgeon General’s warning, plus a nasty photo of an autopsy.

According to the World Health Organization, “picture warnings” work best at preventing people from smoking. Well, I don’t know how much more pictorial you can get… I can’t believe there are any smokers left in Brazil.

Keep in mind, this isn’t a “no-smoking campaign” ad. This is a Marlboro ad in the grocery store. I’ve seen similar horrifying displays at other locations. Yikes. I’ve got no strong opinion on smoking, only that it shouldn’t impact other people, especially children. People should do want they want to. I won’t judge, I’ve got a number of bad habits, such as watching the Real Housewives Bravo TV series (though sometimes I wish someone would put out a horrifying ad such as this to get me to quit…)

But, just for kicks, here is a video I found that has collected some creative “non-smoking” campaign ads…

Just FYI – these ads were collected by an electronic cigarette company for which I know nothing about…

This entry was posted in Expatriate Info & Advice, What the h*ll is that?. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Warning: Smoking Will Scare You

  1. Ray says:

    Dear B.A.B,

    You are absolutely correct, Brazilians lobbists have no power what so ever.
    For starters, Lobbying is actually illegal. 🙂

    Ray

  2. Peg says:

    My husband smokes and I can’t believe he can actually still light up while the photo of the gangrenous foot stares him in the face. Gross! Have you seen that one?

  3. Corinne says:

    These picture ads have just been allowed in the US. My favorite of all of these is the impotence ad: http://noticias.terra.com.br/brasil/fotos/0,,OI6150-EI715,00-Novas+imagens+em+macos+de+cigarros.html

    That will get a Brazilian male’s attention!

    • Oh yeah! I saw that one!
      Really – are the ads in the U.S. as pointed as the ones in Brazil? What’s funny is that these are slapped on top of ads for cigarettes as part of the “surgeon general” type warning. I wonder if they allow that in U.S.

  4. nina says:

    I laughed when I saw these pictures (yup the wrong initial response). Then I was going “ahhh that gross what the H*ll, what is this”? some of the victims I don’t think are results of smoking. sometimes I make up stories about the various ways the person could die. I mean these people are in pretty bad shape.

  5. Ray says:

    Dear B.A.B,

    Can you believe I just watched on the news this morning that the Supreme Court judged these ads “unconstitutional”.
    Yeap, they will have to remove all the ads from all cigarette packages. The decision indicates that it is “unconstitutional” for the governemant to use a package of a certain products to alert the people of health concern policies.
    Only in the US. Land of Corporations and profits, gotta love it 🙂

    Ray

    • If anyone believes that the U.S. is not run by big businesses, they are sadly in the dark. We recently watched a documentary called Inside Job, which I recommend, as shows how even assumed university publications were paid for by big banks. Disgusting.

  6. Ray says:

    Pathetic and so true…

What do you think?

