The Art of the Buy

It seems in Brazil, if you buy anything of reasonable value, it is a dance.

The process goes something like this (translated from Portuguese):

You: How much is this lamp?

Vendor: Two hundred and fifty reis (R$250).

A moment later…

Vendor: But for you, two hundred.

You: But I only have one hundred and fifty in my purse. And I have to pay for parking. So I only have one hundred and thirty. Oh wait, I need to buy a soda. I’ll only have one hundred and twenty-five.

Vendor: No problem. Today, I’ll give it to you for one hundred and twenty five.

Everyone is happy. The vendor pawned off another lamp, and you got a deal.

But as soon as you step outside with your purchase, the thought that will torture you for the rest of the day begins to resonate in your brain.

What if I could have gotten it for one hundred?

This entry was posted in Daily Escapades, Expatriate Info & Advice, Foreigner Insights, Tourist Info and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Art of the Buy

  1. Ray says:

    It reminded me of a story my grandmother told me about the Mercedes Benz factory moving into our town in the outskirts of Sao Paulo in the 1930’s.
    Upon closing the deal, the parties finally agree on R$100,000,00, then, in a sort of bragging/sarcastic/joking way, the German real estate lawyer told the Brazilian farmer they would have paid U$500,000,00 for that valuable land next to the country’s most important highway. The farmer replied – Really, I would have sold it to you for R$10,000, wait until you see the first flooding season… HA! 🙂

    Ray

What do you think?

