Phone Age

A picture of an iPhone taken with an iPhone.

My three-year-old daughter has an iPhone. Sure, it’s a first generation, hand-me-down model. And she’s just going to use it to watch her favorite episodes of “Backyardigans” and “Shaun the Sheep” when I need her to be distracted. But I bet if I spent 5 minutes showing her how to use it, she could make calls too.

We went into cell phone provider Claro this weekend to simply inquire about a wireless device for our computers and came out with a whole load of stuff. Including, a new iPhone 4 for me. All for about US$10. (Jeito works its magic again – I believe both my husband and the Claro guy won out on the deal they orchestrated.)

When I was in high school, I begged to have a phone in my bedroom. My option was one of those big, clunky, mustard yellow phones that was connected at both the wall and the receiver with a long curly cord. It might have even had a dial, if not, those square push buttons. All my friends had phones in their rooms. Some even had the slim, fancy kind. One even had her own line!

But there was no way in H-E-double hockey sticks that I was going to get a phone in my room. And I didn’t even ask for a television in my room. Not in my father’s house.

Now my 3-year-old has a contraption in her purse that not only makes phone calls, but plays her favorite shows, takes pictures and surfs the internet. I can’t even imagine what’s in store for the next generation – they’ll be living in their own apartments before the age of ten.

This entry was posted in Daily Escapades and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Phone Age

  1. workmomad says:

    Kayla has wanted a cell phone since she was in pre-school, and we simply refuse to let her have one. Current estimated age for her getting one: probably around driving age, which we tell her will be when she’s 40. :). Hope your daughter does well with hers!

    Nancy
    http://www.workingmomadventure.com

    • HA! Do you like how I removed myself from any responsibility for her having the phone? As if it just appeared in her Minnie Mouse purse by magic? As soon as she actually wants to call people, the cell phone will disappear. I’m with you – no driving until I’m too old and senile to worry about her anymore.

  2. nuvofelt says:

    During the second world war my mother worked with a computer that filled a building at Bletchley Park. She’ll be 93 on Sunday – and is amazed that a computer will now fit into a pocket. I wonder with you about the new generation.

    • Amazing isn’t it! I remember being a kid and having my father come home with huge reams of discarded “computer paper” for us to use to color. I swear the pieces where two feet by three feet wide!
      Computers will probably just be injected into our brains in a few years!

  3. nuvofelt says:

    Even if it is this simple it will still flummox my dear DH who absolutely hates them! computers, that is….

  4. Oh yes, and it still makes phone calls. Unfortunately, she managed to turn-off “airplane mode” and call a friend of ours in NYC. I can’t even imagine what the charge will be for that call…

What do you think?

